No stopping JSSL Singapore

Follow by Email

The Subang Jaya Super Girls team and GDT Pink Roses FC from Singapore

Junior Soccer School League (JSSL) Singapore wrested the Datuk Chu Ah Nge International Overall Football Challenge Cup), for the fourth consecutive year at the Royal Selangor Club Sports Annexe grounds at the Bukit Kiara yesterday evening (Sunday).

JSSL wrested the Dato’ Chu Ah Nge challenge trophy as overall champions by winning two titles in the Cup category (Under 14 and Under 16), eight individual titles after qualifying for three finals and losing out in two more in the semifinals.

They fielded two teams in each of the age group categories – Under-8’s, Under-10’s, Under-12’s, Under-14’s and Under-16’s.

The trophy is presented to the team with the highest cumulative points at the end of the tournament, where teams collect points for their finishing in each age-group category.

The rules for this grassroots tournament require participating teams, clubs and soccer academies to compete in all age-group levels.

JSSL won individual titles for top scorer in in Under 8, Under 10 and Under 16 categories, two best player’s award in the Under 12 and Under 16, Man of the match in Under 14 and Best Goalkeeper in the Under 12 and Under 14.

Bintang Biru, from Penang carried the local challenge but had to settle to play second fiddle to JSSL in the challenge for the overall trophy.

Bintang Biru, 2013 overall champions, emerged champion in the Under 10 category defeating FCKL 2-0 and lost in the Under-14 final to JSSL. They won four individual titles for Best Goalkeeper in the Under 10 category, Man of the Match in Under 10 final, Tournament Best Goalkeeper in Under 10 and Tournament Best Player in Under 14.

Host Royal Selangor Club (RSC) Harimau in their only final in the Under-10 Plate category won the title defeating Titan United 1-0 in sudden-death playoff and emerged in 4th place in the Plate Under 14 category.

It must have been disappointment for RSC for with their well organised Junior Soccer Development Programme (JSDP) which has been existence for more than a decade and were denied glory in the Cup categories.

RSC have only won the Dato Chu challenge trophy in 2008.

On the other hand, JSSL managing director Harvey Davis was elated.

“Winning the overall title for four years in a row is indeed sweet. Winning the title is sweet but defending it thrice speaks volume of the character of the to  and coaches and their commitment,” said Harvey,

“And we intend to return next year and make it five times in a row,” he added.

FA of Malaysia secretary-general, Stuart Ramalingam who was present yesterday evening to give away the prizes to the winning teams said he was impressed with the organisation and the quality of the tournament.

“FA of Malaysia sanctioned the tournament this year after being satisfied with the quality and professionalism of the tournament.

“FA of Malaysia now plans to ask all football academies to register with us to ensure that these development programmes are run professionally and meet the standards to ensure that we start on the right foot with our development programmes.

“With them registering with us, we can also assist the coaches to attend refresher coaches and upgrade their coaching certificates. We want to ensure that all football coaching academies have qualified coaches and proper training facilities. We are happy that these academies exist and are doing development work but we need to monitor that high standards are maintained and our young children get the best.”

A total of 32 teams and 960 players competed in the two-day tournament in the various age groups with teams coming from Singapore, Maldives, Indonesia, Thailand, Japan and Malaysia.

The Crown Prince of Selangor, Tengku Amir Shah Ibni Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah Al Haj, who is also the President of the Football Association of Selangor, officially declared the tournament at the opening ceremony of the tournament on Saturday.

Several ex-internationals were present to lend support and motivate the young players, among them included Datuk Santokh Singh, Datuk N Thanabalan, Datuk K. Rajagopal, Datuk Chen Wooi Hwa, V, Kalimutu, Ho Hon Seong, Kamarulzaman Yusoff, Vincent Thambirajah, P. Umparam, Lim Hong Guan and Thomas Samuel.




Under 8 (Cup)

Champion:  ANZA

Runners-Up: FCKL

Third placing: JSSL FC

Top Scorer:  Putrs Nur Muhammad – 7 goals (JSSL FC)

Man of the Match (Final): Vincenzo Ucchino (ANZA)

Best Goalkeeper: Marco Ivanic (ANZA)


Under 8 (Plate)

Champion: Circuit GDT FC

Runners-Up: Bintang Baru

Third placing: AB Pro Remaja Harimau


Under 10 (Cup)

Champion: Bintang Baru

Runners-Up: FCKL

Third placing: JSSL FC

Top Scorer: Andy Reefqy – 5 goals (JFFC FC)

Man of the Match (Final): Khairi Shah (Bintang Biru)

Best Goalkeeper: Mohd Alif Ikhwan (Bintang Biru)


Under 10 (Plate)

Champion: RSC

Runners-Up: Titan United

Third placing: Global Football Academy


Under 12 (Cup)

Champion:  Sea Hawk

Runners-Up: JSSL FC

Third placing: Bintang Biru

Top Scorer:  Muhd Amar Shaqi  – 4 goals (Bintang Biru)

Man of the Match (Final): Muhd Anjasara (Sea Hawk)

Best Goalkeeper: Pasindu Nimsara (JSSL FC)


Under 12 (Plate)

Champion: Circuit GDT FC

Runners-Up: Titan United

Third placing: IJL All Stars


Under 14 (Cup)

Champion: JSSL FC

Runners-Up: Bintang Biru

Third placing: Global Football Academy

Top Scorer:  Hasegawa Yuta – 9 goals (Global FA)

Man of the Match (Final): Max McCoy (JSSL FC)

Best Goalkeeper: Ethan Endacott (JSSL FC)


Under 14 (Plate)

Champion: FCKL

Runners-Up: Titan United

Third Placing: Krungkao


Under 16 (Cup)

Champion: JSSL FC

Runners-Up: KLYS

Third placing: Subang Jaya

Top Scorer: Joe Blowers (JSSL FC)

Man of the Match (Final): Tejas Sarana (JSSL FC)

Best Goalkeeper: Johnny English (KLYS)


Under 16 (Plate)

Champion: Mifa-Sasya

Runners-Up: Thai Spirit

Third: Inspire Academy

Please follow and like us: