Sagan looking for record victory

Follow by Email

The names of Gaviria, Viviani, Démare, Degenkolb and Van Avermaet show off on the provisional list of participants in Gent-Wevelgem – In Flanders Fields: fast and strong men competing against last year’s winner, Peter Sagan. The Slovak is looking for his fourth victory in Wevelgem and would only become a record holder with a new victory. 

Not only the wind in the Moeren or the dust in the Plugstreets are obstacles on Sunday 31 March for the Bora-hansgrohe team of Peter Sagan. In Deinze there are 24 other teams at the start, including strong men with a powerful final shot.

The two boys who flanked Sagan last year on the stage in Wevelgem are again present this year. Elia Viviani (Deceuninck – Quick-Step) and Arnaud Démare (Groupama FDJ), resp. second and third in 2018. Viviani couldn’t hold back his tears after his second place in 2018. On his way to Wevelgem, he can count on the winner of Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Zdenek Stybar and the experience of Philippe Gilbert. The selection is complete with fast man Fabio Jakobsen, winner of the Scheldeprijs in 2018.

Greg Van Avermaet (CCC Team) and John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo) know what it feels like to be the best in Wevelgem. They are looking for a second victory. Van Avermaet gets his fellow countryman Van Keirsbulck in support. Degenkolb has the company of Belgians Jasper Stuyven and Edward Theuns. Furthermore, from Belgium, Sep Vanmarcke (EF Education First), Oliver Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale), Jens Keukeleire (Lotto Soudal) and Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) are also present.

UAE Team Emirates throws its fastest guns in the battle with Gaviria and Kristoff, according to the first starting list. The competition comes from the Italian side of Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Merida) and European champion Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott).   

For the teams that received a wild card, the name of Mathieu van der Poel is on the provisional list of participants of a Flanders Classics competition for the first time. Dutchman Niki Terpstra is the leader for the French Direct Energie.



9:38 Wanty-Gobert Cycling Team  
9:41 Direct Energy Pro Cycling Team 
9:44 Team Wallonie-Bruxelles 
9:47 Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling 
9:50 Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise 
9:53 Corendon-Circus Cycling Team 
9:56 Team Sunweb 
9:59 Roompot -Charles Cycling Team 
10:02 AG2R – La Mondiale 
10:05 Team Katusha – Alpecin 
10.08 Cofidis, Solutions Crédits 
10.11 Groupama – FDJ  
10.14 Team Sky 
10.17 Movistar Team 
10.20 EF Education First Pro Cycling 
10.23 UAE Team Emirates 
10.26 Lotto Soudal 
10.29 CCC Team 
10.32 Trek-Segafedo 
10.35 Team Dimension Data 
10.38 Mitchelton-Scott 
10.41 Astana Pro Team
10:45 AM Team Jumbo-Visma 
10:49 AM Deceuninck – Quick-Step 
10:53 AM BORA – Hansgrohe

Please follow and like us: