Carolina Marin

Defending singles champions Chen Long and Carolina Marin head into the BWF World Championships 2015 as the top seeds. 

The seedings are based on the BWF World Rankings of 23 July 2015. China’s Chen (below) leads the standings thanks to his consistent performances that include three World Superseries titles this year: Yonex All England, Maybank Malaysia Open and The Star Australian Open. With 95900 points, Chen is way ahead of Denmark’s Jan O Jorgensen, who is second in the rankings with 72367 points.

Yonex Sunrise India Open champion Kidambi Srikanth (India) and BCA Indonesia Open champion Kento Momota (Japan) are seeded No.3 and No.4 respectively. India has three seeds in Men’s Singles: apart from Srikanth, Kashyap Parupalli and HS Prannoy are also seeded, at No.10 and No.11 respectively.

Men’s Singles seeds:

Chen Long (China, 1); Jan O Jorgensen (Denmark, 2); Kidambi Srikanth (India, 3); Kento Momota (Japan, 4); Lin Dan (China, 5); Chou Tien Chen (Chinese Taipei, 6); Viktor Axelsen (Denmark, 7); Wang Zhengming (China, 8); Son Wan Ho (Korea, 9); Kashyap Parupalli (India, 10); HS Prannoy (India, 11); Marc Zwiebler (Germany, 12); Hu Yun (Hong Kong, 13); Hans-Kristian Vittinghus (Denmark, 14); Tommy Sugiarto (Indonesia, 15); Rajiv Ouseph (England, 16)

Spain’s Carolina Marin shares an identical record this season with Chen Long, having won the same three Superseries titles as the Men’s Singles No.1. However, in Women’s Singles, the competition for the top slot has been tighter, with India’s Saina Nehwal and China’s Li Xuerui breathing down her neck. Nehwal (2), with 79191 points, is just 1421 points short of Marin.

Two-time runner-up Li heads three formidable Chinese among the seeds; the others being 2011 World champion Wang Yihan (6) and Wang Shixian (7). World champion in 2013, Ratchanok Intanon (Thailand), is seeded 5, while Commonwealth Games winner Michelle Li (Canada) is 12.

 Women’s Singles seeds:

Carolina Marin (Spain, 1); Saina Nehwal (India, 2); Li Xuerui (China, 3); Tai Tzu Ying (Chinese Taipei, 4); Ratchanok Intanon (Thailand, 5); Wang Yihan (China, 6); Wang Shixian (China, 7); Sung Ji Hyun (Korea, 8); Nozomi Okuhara (Japan, 9); Bae Yeon Ju (Korea, 10); PV Sindhu (India, 11); Michelle Li (Canada, 12); Minatsu Mitani (Japan, 13); Sayaka Takahashi (Japan, 14); Busanan Ongbumrungpan (Thailand, 15); Maria Febe Kusumastuti (Indonesia, 16).


- Advertisement -