# Malaysians stun defending champions Matias Boe-Carsten Mogensen in semis

# Top seed K. Srikanth to battle China’s Huang Yuxiang in men’s singles final


Malaysia’s top men’s doubles pair Goh V Shem-Tan Wee Kiong gave one of their best performance to date when they swept aside defending champions Mathias Boe-Carsten Mogensen of Denmark in the semi-finals in the USD120,000 Indian Open Grand Prix Gold (Syed Modi Badminton Championships) in Lucknow on Saturday.

The Malaysians stunned the World No 4 pair in straight sets 21-16, 21-18 in 37 minutes at the Babu Banarasi Das Indoor Stadium to put themselves in good position to win their first title this year.

In the final V Shem-Wee Kiong will meet India’s new discovery Pranaav Jerry Chopra-Akshay Dewalkar who shocked second seeds Kim Gi-jung-Kim Sa-rang of Korea in a three set thriller 25-23, 13-21, 21-7 in 63 minutes.

V Shem-Wee Kiong, who won the US Open Grand Prix title last December, went into the match in Lucknow with the Danish pair 2-0 up in head-to-head count, having won their previous matches in the China Open and Denmark Open.

The unseeded Malaysians, ranked No 16 in the world, had beaten Russia’s Vladimir Ivanov-Ivan Sozonov 21-15, 21-16 in the quarter-finals on Friday..

Just last week it was a disappointing outing for V Shem-Wee Kiong in the Victor Far East Malaysia Masters in Penang where they were beaten in the quarter-finals – losing to Japan’s Takeshi Kamura-Keigo Sonoda.

Top seed K. Srikanth of India was too strong for Thailand’s veteran Boonsak Ponsana and easily won 21-14, 21-7 in 32 minutes. In the final he will play China’s Huang Yuxiang who beat teammate Shi Yuqi 17-21, 22-20, 21-12.




Srikanth (Ind) beat Boonsak Ponsana (Tha) 21-14, 21-7

Huang Yuxiang (Chn) beat Shi Yuqi (Chn) 17-21, 22-20, 21-12



Goh V Shem-Tan Wee Kiong (Mas) beat Mathias Boe-Carsten Mogensen (Den) 21-16, 21-18

Pranaav Jerry Chopra-Akshay Dewalkar (Ind) beat Kim Gi-jung-Kim Sa-rang (Kor) 25-23, 13-21, 21-17



Sayaka Sato (Jpn) beat Porntip Buranaprasertsuk (Tha) 21-15, 21-17

Sung Ji-hyun (Kor) beat Nitchaon Jindapol (Tha) 21-16, 21-8



Jung Kyung-eun-Shin Seung-chan (Kor) beat Jwaala Gutta-Ashwini Ponappa (Ind) 21-14, 21-16

Eefje Muskens-Selena Piek (Ned) beat Chang Ye-na-Lee So-hee (Kor) 21-17, 21-8



Puavaranukroh Dechapol-Sapsiree Taerattanachai (Tha) beat Kento Kazuno-Ayane Kurihara (Jpn) 19-21, 21-9, 21-17

Praveen Jordan-Debby Susanto (Ina) beat Shin Baek-choel-Chae Yoo-jung (Kor)

- Advertisement -