BMW Motorrad Motorsport community meets at the Season Finale in Munich

The winner has been decided: Matthieu Lussiana (FR) has won the 2015 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy. In the second season of this special customer racing project a total of 104 BMW racers from 22 different nations and six continents took part. They raced for 73 different teams in 24 individual championship classes.

The best of them were given their awards at the 2015 BMW Motorrad Motorsport Season Finale in the Double Cone in the BMW Welt in Munich (DE) on Saturday. At this event, the international BMW Motorrad Motorsport family met up to bid farewell to the 2015 season.

One of the highlights of the evening was the tribute to the most successful participants in the 2015 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy. The top 15 were recognised with trophies and a total prize purse of 100,000 Euros.

Winner Lussiana received a winner’s cheque for 20,000 Euros. He collected his Race Trophy points in the Brazilian Moto 1000 GP series (MT1GP), where he won his second title in a row on his BMW Motorrad Petronas Racing BMW S 1000 RR.

In the nine races contested in the MT1GP during the scoring period of the 2015 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy (17th November 2014 to 22nd November 2015), Lussiana celebrated seven wins and two second places. Including the bonus points the riders received for title wins, pole positions etc., he picked up a total of 436.69 Race Trophy points.

“It is always a great satisfaction to win a championship title or a trophy, especially the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy with so many riders participating from all around the world,” said Lussiana, who sent a video message to Munich, as he is competing this weekend in the 2015 season finale of the MT1GP in Curitiba (BR).

“It was really exciting because the rankings were changing with every race weekend throughout the season. So the suspense was there until the very last race, and I tried my best to collect the maximum number of points to win that trophy. Since November last year I have won seven races and finished second twice, so I think I found the right way to be fast, consistent and in perfect harmony with my bike.

“This season, I claimed my second title in the Brazilian Moto 1000 GP championship with BMW. I raced the new BMW S 1000 RR model and it was incredible – the frame, the electronics, the engine. And then my team and I did a great job setting the bike up for the different requirements of the every single race track. I am very proud to have represented the BMW brand in Brazil.”

Second place went to Jordan Szoke (CA), the 2015 champion in the Canadian Superbike Championship (CSBK), with 429.67 points. Third was Roland Resch (AT), the 2015 champion in the Superbike class of the Alpe Adria Road Racing Championship (AARR SBK), with 414.73 points (see full final rankings below).

“We can look back on a great second season for the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy,” said Heiner Faust, BMW Motorrad Senior Vice President Sales and Marketing. “The number of over 100 participants is impressive and shows how this project is appreciated among the BMW racers around the globe.

“The fact that our top three finishers race in championships on three different continents, and that the top 15 riders come from 11 different countries and ten racing series, is undoubtedly the proof that the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy really is a global success model. But it is not only that that makes us proud. In 2015, our BMW Motorrad Motorsport customers have continued their streak of success on the race tracks all around the world.”

“With their achievements, our BMW privateers helped to consolidate the outstanding position of BMW Motorrad in national and international racing, and demonstrated that our BMW S 1000 RR is one of the most competitive Superbikes on the circuits all around the globe,” Faust continued.


“We want to thank our privateer riders and teams for all their efforts, and want to take the opportunity tonight to celebrate their successes together with them. It is great to see the large international BMW Motorrad Motorsport family coming together here in Munich. Over the last years we have continuously strengthened the relationships with our teams and riders on all continents. The result is a unique community, which will continue to grow further in the future.

“Our customers are our racing family. For that reason, it is very important for us to support them as best we can with our specialists at BMW Motorrad Motorsport, to offer them highly competitive material and innovative solutions. In the 2015 season the network of BMW Motorrad Motorsport experts worked with more than 160 customer teams world-wide. We will continue in the direction we successfully took with our long-term strategy and our commitment to motorsport. Racing has always played an important role in the history of BMW Motorrad and it will do so in the future.”

To appreciate the achievements of the BMW privateers, a special bonus has been awarded within the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy to championship winning riders and teams for the first time this year. Every rider who won the title in his individual racing series received prize money of 2,500 Euros, while his team was rewarded with 7,500 Euros.

Six BMW racers and teams were handed this title bonus at the BMW Motorrad Motorsport Season Finale in Munich. Eeki Kuparinen (FI) and his Motomarket Racing team won the privateer class of the FIM CEV Superbike European Championship (CEV AM). In the Alpe Adria Road Racing Championship two titles went to BMW racers and teams: Roland Resch (AT) and his reitwagen-racing-team won the title in the Superbike class (AARR SBK), while Michal Prášek (CZ) and the Rohac and Fejta motoracing team were crowned champions in the Superstock class (AARR STK).

Markus Reiterberger (DE) and Van Zon-Remeha-BMW celebrated their second title-win in the Superbike class of the International German Championship SUPERBIKE*IDM (IDM SBK) this year. Jordan Szoke (CA) is the champion in the Canadian Superbike Championship (CSBK) together with his Mopar Express Lane BMW Superbike Team and Matthieu Lussiana (FR) and BMW Motorrad Petronas Racing successfully defended their title in the Moto 1000 GP series in Brazil.

Details of the 2016 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy will be published at a later stage.


2015 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy – Final standings.

In 2015 the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy comprised a total of 19 international and national championships. Points were awarded for 33 different championship classes. Participants in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy could compete in multiple championships.

The points scored in the different championships were calculated separately for each individual race series. The standings only include points from the race series in which the participant has scored the most Race Trophy points. You can find all the information on the 2015 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy online at the BMW Motorrad Motorsport website:


Pos. Name (Nat.) Series / Class Points
1 Matthieu Lussiana (FR) MT1GP STK GP 436.69
2 Jordan Szoke (CA) CSBK PR 429.67
3 Roland Resch (AT) AARR SBK 414.73
4 Markus Reiterberger (DE) IDM SBK 401.79
5 Michal Prášek (CZ) AARR STK 337.42
6 Alastair Seeley (GB) BSB STK 328.73
7 Roberto Tamburini (IT) STK1000 326.86
8 Florian Brunet-Lugardon (FR) FR EU 325.38
9 Eeki Kuparinen (FI) CEV AM 323.89
10 Cyril Brunet-Lugardon (FR) FR EU 291.08
11 Pekka Päivärinta / Kirsi Kainulainen (FI) SWC 250.67
12 Adrián Bonastre (ES) CEV PR 249.20
13 Hudson Kennaugh (ZA) BSB STK 244.45
14 Michal Šembera (CZ) AARR STK 229.33
15 Peter Hickman (GB) BMW RRC 227.33


- Advertisement -