Netherlands top Pool A after 5-2 win against Korea

New Zealand take second place after 3-1 win over Germany

Kelly Jonker finishes pool stages as top scorer with three goals

Quarter-final line-up announced

In the two remaining Pool A matches in the Argentina Hockey World League Final, Netherlands beat Korea 5-2 to secure first place in the pool, while New Zealand beat Germany 3-1 to take second place.
The results mean that Germany finish bottom of Pool A and will play Australia. Korea will play China, New Zealand will battle it out with Great Britain and Netherlands will play Argentina in the Quarter-Finals.
In the first of the Pool A matches, which had to be rescheduled after bad weather the previous day, world number one team Netherlands hit five goals past sixth-ranked Korea.
The goal scorers for the Netherlands were: Lidewij Welten, Caia van Maasakker, Ellen Hoog, Kelly Jonker and Marloes Keetels.
Korea answered with two goals – one from Park Seung and a tap between her legs from Cheon Eun Bi.
In the second rescheduled match, New Zealand put away their chances in an energy-sapping game against Germany.
Charlotte Harrison opened the scoring, then Pippa Hayward and Liz Thompson followed up in the second half.
Germany scored a consolation goal through Franzisca Hauke.
Rescheduled Day Three Results:
Pool A
Germany v New Zealand 1-3 (0-1)
Netherlands v Korea 5-1 (2-1)
Quarter-Final Match Schedule (Times listed below are local)
Thursday 10 December 2015
Quarter-final 1 – 13:30: China v Korea
Quarter-final 2 – 16:00: New Zealand v Great Britain
Quarter-final 3 – 18:30: Australia v Germany
Quarter-final 4 – 21:00: Netherlands v Argentina
Notes to Editors:
Player quotes: these can be found in the individual match reports on the event website.
Argentina Hockey World League Final 2015 (Women)?
When: Saturday  – Sunday 13 December 2015
Where: Estadio Mundialista de Hockey, 1635 St., 200, Rosario-Argentina
Who: Netherlands, Australia, Argentina, New Zealand, Germany, China, Great Britain, Korea
Event website: click here.
Match schedule: click here.
How the teams qualified: click here.
The event features two pools of four followed by quarter-finals, semi-finals, classification and medal matches. Following the round robin, the top four teams in each pool will move into the crossover quarter-final phase, with the pool winners meeting the fourth-placed team from the opposite pool. The #2 and #3 finishers will also face-off in the knock-out quarter-final. The winners of the quarter-final matches will move into semi-finals and the medal games, with the losing teams playing for placement.
- Advertisement -