International Hockey Federation (FIH)

Pool A features 2014 World Cup Silver medallists the Netherlands, New Zealand and Korea

London 2012 Olympic Champions Germany head Pool B which includes hosts Argentina and Spain

Hockey World League Semi-Final to take place in capital Buenos Aires


International Hockey Federation (FIH) have released the pools and match schedule for the men’s Argentina Hockey World League Semi-Final in Buenos Aires, Argentina. 

The Hockey World League Semi-Final is a qualifier for the 2016 Rio Olympic Games with three guaranteed places available to the ten teams competing in the Semi-Final leg in Argentina.

The Hockey World League Semi-Final in Buenos Aires takes place from 3 June 2015 and concludes with the Finals and play-offs on 14 June 2015.  The ten teams making up the pools are a mixture of automatic qualifiers courtesy of their world rankings (at time of entry) and the teams who join via their successful participation in Round 2 of the Hockey World League.

The event will take place in the ‘Centro Nacional de Alto Rendimiento Deportivo’ (CeNARD), Buenos Aires.  It is the first time in its history, that the CeNARD will host a hockey event of this size and prestige, and a hockey event with so much at stake.

2014 World Cup Silver medallists the Netherlands line up in Pool A alongside New Zealand, Korea and qualifiers from Round 2, Japan and Egypt.  While London 2012 Olympic champions Germany are joined in Pool B by host nation and 2014 World Cup Bronze Medallists Argentina, Spain and Round 2 qualifiers Canada and Austria.

FIH President, Leandro Negre said: “The Argentinian fans are passionate about hockey and will be providing amazing support to their team at this fantastic venue. With Olympic qualification at stake, this will be a competitive and exciting event.“


Pool A                  Pool B
Netherlands           Germany
New Zealand         Argentina
Korea                   Spain
Japan                   Canada
Egypt                   Austria

- Advertisement -