Chris Froome pipped Nairo Quintana to victory on the summit finish of the 11th stage of the Vuelta a Espana on Wednesday, but the Colombian held onto his overall lead.

Britain’s Froome, the Tour de France champion, won on the same climb in 2011 and he was the only rider able to keep up with Quintana at the finish this time.

Froome then attacked towards the end and won in 3hours 44min 47sec to edge out Quintana, with Spain’s Alejandro Valverde six seconds behind that duo in third.

Thanks to the time bonuses awarded at the finish, Froome moved up to just 54 seconds back on red jersey holder Quintana in the overall standings, with Valverde third overall at 1:05.


Results from the 11th stage of the Vuelta a Espana, a 168.6km ride from Colunga to Pena Cabarga on Wednesday:

1. Christopher Froome (GBR/SKY) 3hr 44min 47sec, 2. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) at 0:00., 3. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 0:06, 4. Leopold Konig (CZE/SKY) 0:06, 5. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) 0:08, 6. Simon Yates (GBR/ORI) 0:13, 7. Michele Scarponi (ITA/AST) 0:14, 8. Esteban Chaves (COL/ORI) 0:19, 9. Pierre-Roger Latour (FRA/ALM) 0:22, 10. Samuel Sanchez (ESP/BMC) 0:30.


1. Nairo Quintana (COL/Movistar) 42hr 21min 48sec, 2. Christopher Froome (GBR/SKY) at 0:54, 3. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 1:05, 4. Esteban Chaves (COL/ORI) 2:34, 5. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) 3:08, 6. Leopold König (CZE/SKY) 3:09, 7. Simon Yates (GBR/ORI) 3:25, 8. Michele Scarponi (ITA/AST) 3:34, 9. David de la Cruz (ESP/ETI) 3:45, 10. Samuel Sanchez (ESP/BMC) 3:56.

– Agence France-Presse

- Advertisement -