Amri Yahyah

*No place for JDT players in Dollah’s squad to face Liverpool

* Safiq Rahim and Amri Yahyah only reserves in the squad

* Kelantan keeper Khairul Fahmi also out


It was a massive “clean up” of Johor Darul Takzim players in Dollah Salleh’s squad to face English giants Liverpool in a friendly match at the National Stadium in Bukit Jalil on July 24.

Only Safiq Rahim and Amri Yahyah have been named as reserves should there be withdrawals by those named by Dollah for the Liverpool match. Also out from the squad is Kelantan’s veteran goalkeeper Khairul Fahmi Che Mat.

Dollah has also named five foreign players from the M-League for the Liverpool tie.

They are defenders Robert Cornthwaite (Selangor) and Thiago Junior De Aquinio (Perak), midfielder Zah Rahan Krangar (Felda United) and forwards Dickson Nwakaeme (Pahang) and Ashfaq Ali (Police).

Ashfaq, Thiago Junior and Cornthwaite had played for Malaysia Selection in a friendly against another English giant Tottenham Hotspurs last month. Spurs won the match 2-1 played at the Shah Alam Stadium.

Dollah did promise a surprise in the national squad after coming in for severe criticism following Malaysia’s poor performance in the 1-1 draw against football minnows Timor Leste and the 6-0 whitewash by Palestine in the opening two matches in the World Cup qualifiers.

Other notables from JDT not named to the squad for the Liverpool match are Farizal Marlias, Fadhli Shaas, Junior Eldstal, S. Kunanlan, Mahali Jasuli, Safee Sali and Nazrin Nawi.

Also excluded by Dollah are Muslim Ahmad (Police), Indra Putra Mahayuddin (Felda United) and R. Gopinathan (Pahang).


The squad:

Goalkeepers: Zamir Selamat (Perak), Khairul Azhan Khalid (Pah)

Defenders: Zubir Azmi (Tganu), Afif Ammirudin (Police), Yong Kuong Yong (Penang), Nazirul Naim Che Hashim (Harimau Muda B), Razman Roslan (Pah), Thiago Junio De Aquino (Perak), Robert Cornthwaite (Sgor)

Midfielders: Nasir Basharudin (Perak), Hazwan Bakri (Sgor), Baddrol Bakhtiar (Ked), Ahmad Syamim Yahya (Felda United), Joseph Kalang Tie (Swak), Azamuddin Akil (Pah), Zah Rahan Krangar (Felda United)

Strikers: Norshahrul Idlan Talaha (Tganu), Ashfaq Ali (Police), Dickson Nwakaeme (Pah), Afiq Azmi (Sgor)

Reserves: Safiq Rahim (JDT), Amri Yahyah) (JDT

- Advertisement -