Former champions Western Sydney Wanderers have been drawn in Group F of the Asian Champions League 2017 as Thai champions Muangthong United are placed in Group E of the continental competition.

Wanderers, winners in 2014, have drawn J.league runners-up, Urawa Red Diamonds against Korea Republic’s FC Seoul and play-off winner for company.

On the other hand, Muanthong will take on Japan’s Kashima Antlers and two other teams from the play-offs.


Revised 2017 AFC Champions League Draw


Group A

  1. Al Ahli FC (UAE)
  2. PFC Lokomotiv (UZB)
  3. Al Taawoun (KSA)
  4. Play-off winner (IRN/QAT) 

Group B

  1. Esteghlal Khouzestan FC (IRN)
  2. Al Jazira (UAE)
  3. Lekhwiya SC (QAT)
  4. Play-off winner (KSA/UZB/BHR) 

Group C

  1. Al Ahli Saudi FC (KSA)
  2. Zobahan FC (IRN)
  3. Al Ain FC (UAE)
  4. Play-off winner (QAT/UZB) 

Group D

  1. Al Rayyan SC (QAT)
  2. Al Hilal SFC (KSA)
  3. Persepolis FC (IRN)
  4. Play-off winner (UAE/JOR/IND) 


Group E

  1. Kashima Antlers (JPN)
  2. Muangthong United (THA)
  3. Play-off winner (CHN/AUS/PHI/SIN)
  4. Play-off winner (KOR/HKG/VIE) 

Group F

  1. FC Seoul (KOR)
  2. Urawa Red Diamonds (JPN)
  3. Western Sydney Wanderers (AUS)
  4. Play-off winner (CHN/THA/MYA) 

Group G

  1. Guangzhou Evergrande FC (CHN)
  2. Suwon Samsung Bluewings (KOR)
  3. Kawasaki Frontale (JPN)
  4. Eastern SC (HKG) 

Group H

  1. Adelaide United (AUS)
  2. Jiangsu FC (CHN)
  3. Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors (KOR)
  4. Play-off winner (JPN/THA/MAS)


AFC Champions League 2017 Preliminary Stage & Play-off Schedule


Preliminary Stage 2 (January 31, 2017)

PS 2.1 – Al Wehdat (JOR) v JSW Bengaluru FC (IND)

PS 2.2 – FC Nasaf (UZB) v Al Hidd Club (BHR)

PS 2.3 – Al Sadd SC (QAT) v Bye

PS 2.4 – FC Bunyodkor (UZB) v Bye


Play-off Stage (February 7, 2017)

Al Wahda (UAE) v Winner PS 2.1

Al Fateh FC (KSA) v Winner PS 2.2

Esteghlal FC (IRN) v Al Sadd SC (QAT)

El Jaish SC (QAT) v FC Bunyodkor (UZB)



Preliminary Stage 1 (January 24, 2017)

PS 1.1 – Hanoi T&T (VIE) – Bye

PS 1.2 – Johor Darul Ta’zim (MAS) – Bye

PS 1.3 – Yadanarbon FC (MYA) – Bye

PS 1.4 – Global FC (PHI) v Tampines Rovers FC (SIN)


Preliminary Stage 2 (January 31, 2017)

PS 2.1 – Kitchee (HKG) v Hanoi T&T (VIE)

PS 2.2 – Bangkok United (THA) v Johor Darul Ta’zim (MAS)

PS 2.3 – Sukhothai FC (THA) v Yadanarbon FC (MYA)

PS 2.4 – Brisbane Roar (AUS) v Winner PS 1.4


Play-off Stage (February 7, 2017)

Jeju United FC (KOR) v Winner PS 2.1

Gamba Osaka (JAP) v Winner PS 2.2

Shanghai SIPG FC (CHN) v Winner PS 2.3

Shanghai Shenhua FC (CHN) v Winner PS 2.4

- Advertisement -