Peng Soon-Liu Ying

# Vivian Hoo-Khe Wei in the women’s doubles semis

# Peng Soon-Liu Ying also in the running in mixed doubles

# Both pairs in men’s doubles shown the exit


They toiled for 70 minutes to reach their first semi-finals in a year but Vivian Hoo-Woon Khe Wei celebrated a 22-20, 11-21, 21-9 win over Thailand’s Puttita Supajirakul-Sapsiree Taerattanachai in the quarter-finals in the USD120,000 Princess Sirivannavari Thailand Masters Grand Prix Gold in Bangkok on Thursday.

However the Malaysians, seeded four, face another tough hurdle for a place in the final. The Commonwealth Games champions face fifth seeds Tang Yuanting-Yu Yang of China in the semifinals on Friday. The Chinese pair beat compatriots Chang Qinqchen-Jia Yifah 21-8, 21-11.

Malaysia’s flag is also flying in the mixed doubles when seventh seeds Chan Peng Soon-Goh Liu Ying booked their place in the last four with a straight sets 21-15, 21-16 win over Thailand’s Puavaranukroh Dechapol-Sapsiree Taerattanachai in a 35 minute match.

Another Thai pair awaits Peng Soon-Liu Ying in the semi-finals – Bodin Issara-Savitree Amitrapai. The Thais defeated Indonesia’s Irfan Fadhilah-Weni Anngraini 21-14, 21-9 in their quarter-final match.

But Malaysia’s interest in the men’s doubles disappeared with the defeat of Goh V Shem-Tan Wee Kiong and professionals Koo Kien Keat-Tan Boon Heong in the quarter-finals.

The country’s top doubles pair of Goh V Shem-Tan Wee Kiong, winners of the Indian Open GP Gold, gave a creditable performance against top seeds Mohammad Ahsan-Hendra Setiawan before falling to a three set defeat.

The Malaysians took the first set 21-19 but the Indonesians came back strongly to win the next two sets 21-16, 21-13 against the sixth seeded Malaysians.

Independent pair Kien Keat-Boon Heong were no match for Koreans Kim Ji-jung-Kim Sa-rang. The Korean second seeds walked away with an easy 21-10, 21-12 win over the eight seeded Malaysians.


SELECTED RESULTS (Quarter-finals)


Son Wan-ho (Kor) beat Jeon Hyeok-jin (Kor) 11-21, 21-12, 21-11

Hu Yun (Hkg) beat Sameer Verma (Ind) 23-21 11-21, 21-11

Lee Hyun-Il (Kor) beat Wei Nan (Hkg) 21-18, 21-13

Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk (Tha) beat Angus Ng Ka Long (Hkg) 21-23, 21-11, 21-18



Kim Gi-jung-Kim Sa-rang (Kor) beat Koo Kien Keat-Tan Boon Heong (Mas) 21-10, 21-12

Mohammad Ahsan-Hendra Setiawan (Ina) beat Goh V Shem-Tan Wee Kiong (Mas) 19-21, 21-16, 21-13



Vivian Hoo-Woon Khe Wei (Mas) beat Puttita Supajirakul-Sapsiree Taerattanachai 22-20, 11-21, 21-9

Tang Yuanting-Yu Yang (Chn) beat Chang Qingchen-Jia Yifah (Chn) 21-8, 21-11



Chan Peng Soon-Goh Liu Ying (Mas) beat Puvanarukroh Dechapol-Sapsiree Taeeattanachai 21-15, 21-16

Bodin Issara-Savitree Amitrapai (Tha) beat Irfan Fadhilah-Weni Anggraini (Ina) 21-14, 21-9 

- Advertisement -