Organisers of the widely acclaimed Yeangder TPC – impressively won by Thailand’s Poom Saksansin two weeks ago – have announced that the prize money for next year’s tournament will be increased to US$1million, which elevates it to the joint-richest golf event in the country.

This marks the third successive time the purse has been increased. The tournament returned to the Asian Tour schedule in 2022, after a three-year absence due to COVID-19, with a prize purse of US$700,000 which was a significant rise from the previous purse of US$500,000 in 2019. This season it was upped again to US$750,000.

“Our thanks go to the Yeangder Group and its Chairman Emmet Hsu for once again elevating the prize money for what is one of the Asian Tour’s key tournaments. Not only have we seen an elevation in the purse in recent years, but we’ve also seen a considerable effort made towards improving playing conditions at the host venue. The conditions this year were the best we have ever seen.” said Cho Minn Thant, the Asian Tour’s Commissioner and CEO.

“This means the Yeangder TPC will continue to play a decisive role in determining our Merit champion and final overall finishing places on the list. 

“Chinese Taipei has long been one of the Asian Tour’s biggest supporters, through events like the Yeangder TPC and its many great players – past, present and future.”

Poom was triumphant over Australian Travis Smyth, the defending champion, by three shots this year at Linkou International Golf and Country Club, the tournament’s permanent home since its launch in 2010.

He closed with a brilliant six-under-par 66 to finish on 24-under for his first Asian Tour title in five years and earned a cheque for US$135,000.

The inaugural Yeangder TPC was won by Thai great Thaworn Wiratchant. He triumphed again in 2013 and remains the only player to date to have his name etched on the trophy twice.

The event boasts an impressive list of international winners with the victories of Thai Prom Meesawat (2014) and Spaniard Carlos Pigem (2016) were notable for the fact that they were achieved after play-offs, while Lu Wei-chih (2011) is the only local player to have savoured success in the event when it has been sanctioned by the Asian Tour.

Indian Gaganjeet Bhullar’s four-stroke success in 2012 remains the largest winning margin in the event’s history.

Also on the Yeangder TPC roll of honour are South African Shaun Norris (2015), Indian Ajeetesh Sandhu (2017), American John Catlin (2018) and Korean Yikeun Chang (2019).

- Advertisement -