Martin and Dunlop dominate the Southern 100 on their BMW S 1000 RRs

 Canadian BMW Motorrad privateer Jordan Szoke continued his winning streak in the Canadian Superbike Championship (CSBK). In Edmonton (CA) he bagged a brace of wins on his BMW S 1000 RR. With this success, he catapulted himself from 25th to fifth in the 2015 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy rankings.

In the amateur class the wins in both races also went to the RR. The iconic Isle of Man was the venue for the prestigious Southern 100 last week – with two BMW riders being in the limelight: Guy Martin (GB) and Michael Dunlop (GB) dominated the 1000-cc-class on their RRs.

Canadian Superbike Championship in Edmonton, Canada

Jordan Szoke (CA) has made a huge step towards his eighth CSBK title: The BMW privateer remained unbeaten at the third round of the 2015 Canadian Superbike Championship (CSBK) at Edmonton (CA). This time two races were held and Szoke dominated the weekend on his BMW S 1000 RR from the Mopar Express Lane BMW Superbike Team.

In Superpole he secured pole-position for both heats by setting a new track record. He then won both races with a comfortable advantage of several seconds. In addition, he set the fastest lap time on both occasions.

Szoke’s winning streak is impressive: he has been victorious in all four races held so far this season. With three more races to go, he has extended his overall lead in the championship to 77 points over his closest rival. In total Szoke has collected 219 points so far.

With his success in Edmonton he also made a huge leap in the 2015 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy rankings, improving from 25th to fifth. His fellow BMW rider Michael Leon (CA / Royal Distributing Superbike Team) finished the first race in a strong fourth but retired in race two.

In the amateur class it was also a BMW Motorrad privateer who was the man to beat: Samuel Trépanier (CA) claimed pole-position with his BMW S 1000 RR and also won both races.


Southern 100 on the Isle of Man

The road-racing entourage returned to the legendary Isle of Man last week for the anniversary of the Southern 100 – the iconic event was celebrating its 60th birthday this year. In races for the 1000-cc-category BMW privateers Guy Martin (GB) and Michael Dunlop (GB) shared the wins between themselves, exciting the fans with thrilling duels at the top of the field.

In the Senior Race Martin claimed the win on his Tyco BMW S 1000 RR, beating Dunlop by just 0.092 seconds. In the second race for the 1000-cc-class, the Corlett’s Trophy, it was Dunlop’s turn to climb onto the top step of the podium. With his RR, which he entered together with the Buildbase BMW Motorrad team, he set a new lap record and overtook leader Martin in the very last metres. Dunlop secured victory with an advantage of a mere 0.087 seconds over Martin.

The Solo Championship marked the highlight of the race week, and Martin celebrated his second win of the event. It was the first-ever victory for the BMW S 1000 RR in the Solo Championship. In addition, Martin equalled Joey Dunlop’s all-time record of winning this prestigious race three times in a row. Michael Dunlop was also in contention for the win again, but crashed heavily while lying in third position. He suffered severe bruises but fortunately no more serious injuries.

The Tyco BMW Team was also successful in another road race this weekend: William Dunlop (GB) took victory in the Grand Final at the Walderstown Road Races in Ireland. The next big event is the Ulster Grand Prix at the beginning of August, which forms part of the new BMW Combined Road Race Challenge (BMW RRC).


2015 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy – Current Standings

In 2015 the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy comprises of a total of 19 international and national championships. Participants in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy can compete in multiple championships. The points scored in the different championships are calculated separately for each individual race series. The current standings only include points from the race series in which the participant has scored the most Race Trophy points.

You can find all the information on the 2015 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy online at the BMW Motorrad Motorsport website:


Pos. Name (Nat.) Series / Class Points
1 Markus Reiterberger (DE) IDM SBK 222.38
2 Matthieu Lussiana (FR) MT1GP STK GP 213.33
3 Roberto Tamburini (IT) STK1000 212.00
4 Florian Brunet-Lugardon (FR) FR EU 203.08
5 Jordan Szoke (CA) CSBK PR 195.83
6 Roland Resch (AT) AARR SBK 181.33
7 Cyril Brunet-Lugardon (FR) FR EU 179.69
8 Pekka Päivärinta / Kirsi Kainulainen (FI) SWC 178.67
9 Michel Amalric (FR) FR EU 160.00
10 Emeric Jonchière (FR) FSBK STK 153.58
11 Michal Prášek (CZ) AARR STK 148.33
12 Michal Šembera (CZ) AARR STK 143.33
13 Hudson Kennaugh (ZA) BSB STK 142.55
14 Alastair Seeley (GB) BSB STK 128.00
15 Eeki Kuparinen (FI) CEV AM 124.80


- Advertisement -