# Unseeded Chong Wei defeats 8th seed Tommy Sugiarto

# Wei Feng survives a three-set battle against Hu Yun

# Jing Yi falls to Yip Pui Yin in straight sets

# V Shem-Wee Kiong and Kien Keat-Boon Heong advance to second round


Newly crowned Thaihot China Open champion Datuk Lee Chong Wei outplayed eighth seed Tommy Sugiarto of Indonesia in the first round in the USD350 Yonex Sunrise Hong Open on Wednesday.

The former World No 1 romped to a 21-16, 21-15 win in 40 minutes. The unseeded 33-year-old who scalped top seed Chen Long in the China Open will face Germany’s Marc Zwiebler in the second round.

On his way to the China Open title Chong Wei knocked out second seed Jan O Jorgensen of Denmark in the quarter-finals and China’s Lin Dan in the semi-finals.

Also clearing the first hurdle is Chong Wei Feng who put his recent erratic form behind him to stun Hong Kong’s Hu Yun with a three-set 21-17, 12-21, 21-15 win in 59 minutes.

His next opponent is China’s Wang Zhengming who handed second seed Jorgensen a 21-15, 21-19 beating in his upset win.

Toop seed and current World No 1 Chen Long cleared the first hurdle with a 21-17, 21-12 win over India’s Ajay Jayaram.

Tee Jing Yi who made the main draw after India’s Saina Nehwal pulled out with a leg injury saw her campaign come to an abrupt end in the first round. The Malaysian fell to Hong Kong’s Yip Pui Yin 14-21, 19-21 in 42 minutes.

Malaysia’s top men’s doubles pair Goh V Shem-Tan Wee Kiong romped to 21-18, 21-11 win over Taiwan’s Lin Chia-yu-Wu Hsiao-lin to advance. They will take China Open runners-up Chai Biao-Hong Wei for a place in the quarter-finals.

Independent pair Koo Kien Keat-Tan Boon Heong also advanced with a 21-15, 21-17 win over Taiwan’s Liao Min-chun-Tseng Min-hao. Howver it was the end of the road for another indpendent pair Hoon Thien How-Lim Khim Wah who lost 21-18, 21-17 to China’s Wang Yilv-Zhang Wen.





Datuk Lee Chong Wei (Mas) beat Tommy Sugiarto (Ina) 21-16, 21-15

Chong Wei Feng (Mas) beat Hu Yun (Hkg) 21-17, 12-21, 21-15

Chen Long (Chn) beat Ajay Jayaram (Ind) 21-17, 21-12

Wang Zhengming (Chn) beat Jan O Jorgensen (Den) 21-15, 21-19



Goh V Shem-Tan Wee Kiong (Mas) beat Lin Chia Yu-Wu Hsiao Lin (Tpe) 21-18, 21-11

Koo Kien Keat-Tan Boon Heong (Mas) beat Liao Min Chun-Tseng Min Hao (Tpe) 21-15, 21-17

Wang Yilv-Zhang Wen (Chn) beat Hoon Thien How-Lim Khim Wah (Mas) 21-18, 21-17




Yip Pui Yin (Hkg) beat Tee Jing Yi (Mas) 21-14, 21-19

- Advertisement -