Trinidad & Tobago, Ireland, Bangladesh, Canada, Spain and Malaysia to host events

Events to take place early 2017

Round 1 hosts to be announced shortly

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has confirmed that six countries around the world will host 2016/17 Hockey World League (HWL) Round 2 events in early 2017.
The three men’s competitions will take place in Tacarigua (Trinidad & Tobago), Dublin (Ireland) and Dhaka (Bangladesh) while the women’s tournaments will take place in Vancouver (Canada), Valencia (Spain) and Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia).
Speaking of these host agreements, FIH CEO, Kelly Fairweather, said: “We are delighted to announce these six venues for the Hockey World League Round 2. We had an unprecedented number of exceptional applications to host these events which made the decision making process extremely difficult. 24 bids from cities around the world were received, which provides further evidence of the growing global spread of our sport.”
He continued: “What’s great to see is that many of the bids reflected one of our Hockey Revolution goals – to develop innovative and exciting entertainment events. With this in mind, we have no doubt that each and every one of the host cities will put on fantastic events and in doing so showcase international hockey at its best.”
The dates for each event are currently being finalised in conjunction with each host National Association and as soon as they are finalised they will be published on the FIH website.
Following the confirmation of the HWL Round 2 hosts, in close cooperation with the Continental Federations, FIH are now finalising the venues and teams for the HWL Round 1 tournaments, which will be held in 2016.
Composed of four rounds and played over two years, the HWL takes place in venues around the world.
This unique competition gives even the smallest hockey-playing nations the opportunity to write their own chapter in hockey’s history books, as they are given the chance to progress through the Rounds, with the added incentive of Olympic or World Cup qualification also on offer.
The 2016/17 HWL will decide which teams will qualify alongside the Continental Champions and hosts for the FIH World Cups in 2018 in England (women) and India (men).
All teams participating in the HWL will also receive FIH World Ranking points which could potentially prove crucial when it comes to qualification for other hockey events.
The 2014/15 HWL will conclude at the end of this year. The 2015 men’s Hero Hockey World League Final takes place in Raipur, India between 27 November and 6 December, while the women’s Argentina Hockey World League Final 2015 will be held in Rosario, Argentina between 5 and 13 December.
To find out more about the 2015 men’s Hero Hockey World League Final, click here.
To find out more about the women’s Argentina Hockey World League Final 2015, click here.
For all other FIH and Continental Federation events, visit
- Advertisement -