President Leandro Negre departing after eight years

Elections will take place at the Hockey Revolution Part II Congress in Dubai

Vote will take place on 12 November

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has announced the nominations for their Executive Board Member elections which will take place at the Hockey Revolution Part II Congress in November.

The vote will take place on Saturday 12 November 2016 in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, with five positions on the Executive Board to be voted in.

This includes the role of President, with Leandro Negre’s term in office coming to an end following the Spaniard’s eight year period presiding over the Federation.

Three candidates have been officially nominated by their National Association for this role. They include Australia’s Ken Read, India’s Dr Narinder Batra and Ireland’s David Balbirnie.

On the Executive Board, Members Mary Cicinelli from Canada and England’s Sue Catton will be standing for re-election while Netherlands Jan Albers and Pakistan’s Qasim Zia have chosen not to stand for another term in office.

This means that four positions as Ordinary Members of the FIH Executive Board will be elected at the Congress, or five if current Board Member Dr Narinder Batra is elected as President.

The female candidates in addition to Sue Catton and Mary Cicinelli are Danae Andrada from Uruguay and Hazel Kennedy from Zambia whilst male nominees are Eric Cornelissen from the Netherlands; Spain’s Santiago Deo; outgoing Athletes’ Committee Chair Michael Green from Germany; USA’s Shawn Hindy and Tayyab Ikram from Macau.

Continental Federation Presidents will remain on the Board until their next continental elections. They include Egypt’s Seif Ahmed (Africa), HRH Prince Abdullah Shah of Malaysia (Asia), Netherlands Marijke Fleuren (Europe), New Zealand’s Pam Elgar (Oceania) and Argentina’s Coco Budeisky (Pan America).

They are supported by the Ordinary Members of the Executive Board, all of whom have another two years in office to complete their existing terms – Dr Narinder Batra (India), Marc Coudron (Belgium), Maureen Craig-Rousseau (Trinidad and Tobago) and Pamela Stuper (USA).

The FIH Athletes’ Committee is also represented on the Board, ensuring that athletes play an important role in determining the future of hockey. Departing Chair Michael Green from Germany will be replaced on the Board by incoming Joint-Chair Annie Panter from England.

The election of the FIH Executive Board will be part of the 45th FIH Congress on 12 November following several days of action packed activity in Dubai.

Executive Board and Continental Federation meetings will take place between 9-10 November in addition to the inaugural Turf and Field Forum for organisations involved in the FIH Quality Programme for Hockey Turf.

The Hockey Revolution Conference will then take place on Friday 11 November, providing updates on the latest news from the Hockey Revolution including an exclusive preview of FIH’s plans for the immediate future. This precedes the Hockey Revolution Awards Dinner later that night.

For more information about the upcoming FIH Hockey Revolution Part II Congress in Dubai, visit

- Advertisement -