# Southern Tigers win Super League title with unbeaten record

# Beat Selangor 2-1 at Shah Alam in their last match

# Terengganu and Police relegated to Premier League


By Rizal Abdullah

Johor Darul Takzim made up for their failure to retain the AFC Cup by adding another feather to their cap in the Malaysian League with a new high – completing their Super League campaign with an unbeaten record.

A 2-1 win over Selangor at the Shah Alam Stadium in their final league match on Saturday meant JDT became the first team in Malaysian football to win the league title without losing a match.

The Southern Tigers completed their 22-match fixtures with 18 wins and four draws with an impressive goal tally of 56 goals for and 14 against for their 58 points for their third successive Super League title.

Argentine hot-shot Jorge Pereyra Diaz and national skipper Amri Yahyah – the very players who were sorely missed in the return-leg AFC Cup semi-final against JSW Bengaluru in Bangalore in mid-week, made it count against Selangor.

Diaz and Amri scored a goal each in the 64th and 77th minutes respectively while Ahmad Hazwan Bakri (71) scored for Selangor.

Diaz, Amri and Juan Martin Lucero sat out the AFC Cup match and were beaten 3-1 by Bengaluru which gave the Indian club a 4-2 aggregate win and a place in the final.

East Coast powerhouse Terengganu were relegated to the second-tier Premier League after a 1-0 defeat to Penang at the City Stadium. The Panthers scored the all-important winner through Faizat Ghazali in the last minute to avoid relegation.

In Kuching, Sarawak also registered a win against Police to keep their place in the Super League. With the defeat Police were relegated to the Premier League next year.

In other matches Kelantan were held to a 2-2 draw by Perak in Kota Bahru with Blazhe Ilijokski netting a brace for the Red Warriors. Shahrul Saad and Fazrul Hazli Kadir netted for Pereak.

Pahang held Malaysia Cup semi-finalists T-Team to a 1-1 draw at the Sultan Ismail Nasiruddin Shah Stadium in Kuala Terengganu.



Selangor     1     JDT     2

T-Team       1     Pahang     1

Penang       1     Terengganu     0

Sarawak     2     Police     1

Kelantan     2    Perak     2



Malacca United   1  Sime Darby    1

- Advertisement -