Shan United are closing in on their fourth Myanmar National League (MNL) title in a row with the league leaders six points ahead and with five matches to go to the end of the season.

The 3-1 win over Dagon Star United this week gave Shan United their fifteenth victory of the season as they remained undefeated from 17 matches played thus far.

But this week, Shan United were made to toil for their win when Wai Lin Aung gave the visiting Dagon Star United side the lead after 40 minutes.

However, Shan United fought back with goals from Lin Htet Soe in the 62nd minute, Nanda Kyaw (67th) and Ye Min Thu (90th) for the win.

On second is former champions Yangon United, who needed the 61st minute winner from La Min Htew for their close 2-1 victory over Ayeyawady United.

Earlier, Hlaing Bo Bo’s fourth minute lead for Yangon United was cancelled out by Nyi Nyi Aung’s 47th minute penalty.

The win was Yangon United’s thirteenth of the season from 17 matches for 41 points – six points behind leaders Shan United.

Further down on 31 points is Hantahrwady United on third, who beat Yadanarbon United 1-0 with the only goal of the game coming off Nay Moe Naing in the 80th minute of play.




- Advertisement -