International athletes Kennedy KiprooLilan and Mugo Hellen Wanjikubags Full Marathon Men’s & Women’s category

Local athletes Muhaizar Mohamad andLohChooi Fern wins Full Marathon Men’s & Women’s category


After another impressive race,the Standard KL Marathon 2014 proudly announced its winners for its sixth installation today.

Kennedy KiprooLilanand Mugo Hellen Wanjiku, both from Kenyawere named champions with respective times of 02:17:47and02:43:22.

Expressing his excitement, Kennedy said, “I am very excited for my personal achievement at the Standard Chartered KL Marathon today, despite the rather challenging new route. But what mattered most to me was that everything turned out great in the end, and I am very thankful for that.”

Meanwhile sharing her joy, Hellen said, “I am very thrilled because this is my first Standard Chartered KL Marathon and I won the race! I have been overtaken several times but I kept pushing myself until I crossed the finish line, and the feeling was surreal.”

The Full Marathon Men’s Open category took home the first runner-up medal with a time of 02:17:48 whichwent toGeofferyBirgen of Kenya, just ahead of Chelimo Luka Kipkemoi from Kenya with 02:18:45. Demes AlemtsehayMesfin from Kenya was the second to cross the line in the Women’s Full Marathon with a time of 02:43:59, whileRuth ChemistoMatebo finished third 02:44:32.

Malaysian Full Marathoners were not far behind with Muhaizar Mohamadearning the Full Marathon Malaysian Men’s Title and LohChooi Ferntaking the Malaysian Women’s category with a time of 02:41:11and 3:25:52 respectively.[1]

Both the male and female Malaysian winners for the Standard Chartered KL Marathon 2014 are part of the DirigoAtheletes Development Programme which aims to develop a corp of world-class running talent within the country.

At the press conference with the winners, Rainer Biemans, Director of Dirigo Events, owner and organizer of Standard Chartered KL Marathon said, “The runners have really taken to the challenge of the new route and we’re delighted with how the route has worked out for them.  It’s a good shift for us and for them in keeping the race fresh as well as challenging.”

A 16 percent increase from the previous marathon, the prize package offered this year amounted to USD 116,740 (approximately RM376, 524).

This year, the Standard Chartered KL Marathon introduced a new route for the event. Some 35,200 runners took off from DataranMerdeka and JalanTunku Abdul Rahman throughout Race Day. The new route took runners to the some of the busiest highways of the city namely the Duta-UluKlang (DUKE) Highway and the Ampang Elevated Highway (AKLEH).

Another additional feature is winners of the MSIG 10km category Open Champion were also awarded a pair of tickets to Osaka, Japan courtesy of gold sponsor, MSIG Insurance.

Flag off was conducted by YBhg. Datuk Seri Ahmad Phesal bin Talib, Mayor of Kuala Lumpur. Other dignitaries present at the marathon were YB. En. KhairyJamaluddin, Minister of Youth and Sports, YBhg. Tan Sri Datuk Mohd Sheriff MohdKassim, Chairman of Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia Berhad, Mr. Osman Morad, Managing Director and CEO of Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia, Yoichiro Ueno-san, CEO of Honda Malaysia and Mr. Chua Sek Guan, CEO, MSIG Insurance.

In support of the event, the Minister of Youth and Sports Malaysia, Y.B En. KhairyJamaluddintook on the 10km Speed category. Khairysuccessfully completed the race within one hour time frame, setting an outstanding example to the Malaysian public.

“The Standard Chartered KL Marathon 2014 is indeed an impressive and well planned event. I am happy that I am fit enough to join and finish this event. Training for this race not only requires discipline but as the tagline for this year’s marathon goes – Committed. Confident.Courageous. Recently, I have launched a programme called Fit Malaysia which aims to drive Malaysians to lead a healthy lifestyle and for Malaysia to be a sporting nation one day. The Ministry of Youth and Sports and its agencies support these kinds of events and I urge all Malaysians to take part in various sporting events such as today’s to maintain a healthy lifestyle,” said Khairy.

Winners of the Standard Chartered KL Marathon 2014

Full Marathon Men’s Open

Position Name Country Time
1st Kennedy KiprooLilan Kenya 02:17:47
2nd Geoffrey Birgen Kenya 02:17:48
3rd Chelimo Luka Kipkemoi Kenya 02:18:45

Full Marathon Women’s Open

Position Name Country Time
1st Mugo Hellen Wanjiku Kenya 02:43:22
2nd Demes AlemtsehayMefsin Kenya 02:43:59
3rd Ruth ChemistoMatebo Kenya 02:44:32

Full Marathon Malaysian Men

Position Name Country Time
1st Muhaizar Mohamad Malaysia 02:41:11
2nd ShaharudinHashim Malaysia 02:46:24
3rd Tan Huong Leong Malaysia 02:47:23

Full Marathon Malaysian Women

Position Name Country Time
1st LohChooi Fern Malaysia 03:25:52
2nd Yuan Yu Fang Malaysia 03:34:27
3rd Adele Wong Li-Peng Malaysia 03:35:07

Full Marathon Veteran Men

Position Name Country Time
1st Jonah KipseremTarus Kenya 02:28:11
2nd Charles KimingiThaiya Kenya 02:37:56
3rd David Kuino Kenya 02:40:59

Full Marathon Veteran Women

Position Name Country Time
1st MargeretNjuguna Kenya 03:03:36
2nd Takeuchi Keiko Japan 03:22:41
3rd ChotipKan-Uam Thailand 03:22:53

Honda Half Marathon Men Open

Position Name Country Time
1st Peter KipletingKeter Kenya 01:06:48
2nd James Maregu Kenya 01:07:48
3rd Paul KimaniKiragu Kenya 01:09:00



Honda Half Marathon Women Open

Position Name Country Time
1st JacklineMusyawaNzvio Kenya 01:20:01
2nd PeninahKigen Kenya 01:20:50
3rd Kiguru Mary Wangui Kenya 01:22:03

Honda Half Marathon Men Veteran

Position Name Country Time
1st Jean-Pierre LautReDoux France 01:16:07
2nd Mizukoshi Tomohiro Japan 01:19:51
3rd Mark Williams Great Britain 01:20:26

Honda Half Marathon Women Veteran

Position Name Country Time
1st TaniMami Japan 01:30:00
2nd Joanna Louise Dent Australia 01:32:33
3rd Rachel Pepper New Zealand 01:39:04

10km Speed Men Open

Position Name Country Time
1st AndriDauni Malaysia 00:36:53
2nd Tim Garret Australia 00:37:02
3rd Chew JeeKeng Singapore 00:38:08

10km Speed Women Open

Position Name Country Time
1st EmebetHailuMulate Ethiopia 00:39:38
2nd Sheela A/P Samivellu Malaysia 00:40:02
3rd Jessica Ng Sze Chia Malaysia 00:52:16

10km Speed Men Veteran

Position Name Country Time
1st Prabakharan A/L Madhavan Malaysia 00:37:31
2nd Lim Khon Seng, Casey Malaysia 00:38:52
3rd Chai Yit Shang Malaysia 00:42:27

10km Speed Women Veteran

Position Name Country Time
1st Lai YookChing Malaysia 00:50:24
2nd Tan Pei Ling Malaysia 00:50:53
3rd Tina Munro Great Britain 00:51:27

Corporate Challenge

Position Name Country Time
1st Mercedes-Benz Malaysia 02:44:51
2nd Hwang Investment Management 02:58:05
3rd Curtin University, Sarawak Campus 03:00:48

Ministries Challenge

Position Name Country Time
1st JabatanPengairan Dan Saliran Malaysia 02:46:16
2nd KementerianSumberAsli Dan AlamSekitar 03:00:34
3rd JabatanImegresen Malaysia 03:06:32

Universities Challenge

Position Name Country Time
1st Taylor’s College Sri Hartamas 02:32:34
2nd Methodist College Kuala Lumpur 02:41:49
3rd Monash University Malaysia 02:51:43
- Advertisement -