The Badminton Association of Malaysia (BAM) have released a 16-man squad for the upcoming 2018 Badminton Asia Junior Team Championships in Jakarta, Indonesia.

Led by reigning Dutch Junior Open champions, Pearly Tan Koong Le-Toh Ee Wei, the list also includes 2017 Asian Junior bronze medallists, Eoon Qi Xuan, Ng Tze Yong, Chia Wei Jie and Smiling Fish Junior International runner-up, Ooi Jhy Dar.

National youth coach, Kwan Yoke Meng said: “Based on tournament performances, these players are the most impressive from my point of view.

Our selection this time around also include a number of 16-year olds with a view to get exposure at a big mixed team tournament.

While last year’s selected squad were stronger with Leong Jun Hao and Goh Jin Wei, but I do believe that the players have the character to cause an upset against higher ranked opponents and reach our target of qualifying to semi-finals.

I hope that our players will be able to play to their true potential and without pressure.”

- Advertisement -