# Ka Long stops Chong Wei brilliant run in three games

# Hong Kong’s Ka Long secures first win over Chong Wei in six outings

Lee Chong Wei has failed to get into the semi-finals in the USD700,000 Tahoe China Open Superseries Premier in Fuzhou when he was beaten by Hong Kong’s Angus Ka Long in three games in the quarter-finals on Friday.

The seventh ranked Malaysian, after his easy wins in the first two rounds was expected to make the semi-finals with ease. However, it wasd Ka Long who turned on the heat on the former world number one with a 21-12, 15-21, 21-19 win in 71 minutes.

It was Ka Long’s first win in six outings. Chong Wei had won his previous five meetings in straight games with the last win achieved at the Dubai World Superseries Finals in 2015 on Dec 12.

Ka Long will now face top seed and world champion Viktor Axelsen for a place in Sunday’s final. The Dane defeated fifth seed Chou Tien Chen 21-17, 21-14.

The other semi-final is between China’s Olympic champion Chen Long who needed three games to subdue his compatriot Shi Yuqi and second seed Son Wan-ho of South Korea. Sixth seeded Chen Long defeated 21-13, 16-21, 21-14 in a 72-minute encounter while Wan-ho struggled past Hong Kong’s Lee Cheuk Yiu 21-14, 12-21, 21-18.

In the women’s singles world number one and top seed Tai Tzu Ying of Chinese Taipei fell by the wayside. Former world number one Ratchanok Intanon of Thailand came back from a game down to win 10-21, 21-9, 22-20  and will play Japan’s Akane Yamaguchi in the semis.

Second seed P.V. Sindhu of India is also out of contention after a 11-21, 10-21 defeat at the hands of China’s Gao Fangjie who will face Olympic champion Carolina Marin in the last four.




Viktor Axelsen (Den) beat Chou Tien Chen (Tpe) 21-17, 21-14

Angus Ka Long (Hkg) beat Lee Chong Wei (Mas) 21-12, 15-21, 21-19

Chen Long (Chn) beat Shi Yuqi (Chn) 21-13, 16-21, 21-14

Son Wan-ho (Kor) beat Lee Cheuk Yiu (Hkg) 21-14, 12-21, 21-18



Akane Yamaguchi (Jpn) beat Ji Shuting (Chn) 21-11, 21-19

Carolina Marin (Spn) beat He Bingjiao (Chn) 21-15, 22-24, 21-19

Ratchanok Intanon (Tha) beat Tai Tzu Ying (Tpe) 10-21, 21-9, 22-20

Gao Fangjie (Chn) beat P.V. Sindhu (Ind) 21-11, 21-10



Li Junhui-Liu Tuchen (Chn) beat Liu Cheng-Zhang Nan (Chn) 17-21, 21-12, 21-19

Mathias Boe-Carsten Mogensen (Den) beat Mads Conrad Petersen-Mads Pieler Kolding (Den) 21-23, 23-21, 21-19

Marcus Fernaldi Gideon-Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo (Ina) beat Vladimir Ivanonv-Ivan Sozonov (Rus) 21-19, 21-13

Mohammad Ahsan-Rian Agung Saputro (Ina) beat Takuro Hoki-Yugo Kobayashi (Jpn)  21-11, 22-20

- Advertisement -