* German Marc Zwiebler retires against the Dane 

* India’s Kashyap loses steam against Japan’s Momota 

* Chinese challenge in the women’s singles wiped out



Defending champion Jan O Jorgensen eased into his second successive final in the BCA Indonesia Open Superseries Premier final when Germany’s Marc Zwiebler retired midway in the second set in the semi-finals at the Istora Senayan Stadium in Jakarta on Saturday.

The Dane, who has moved up to No 2 in world rankings, was leading 21-17, 11-5 when the German called it quits after 27 minutes.

In Sunday’s final Jorgensen will face Japan’s Kento Momota who snuffed out India’s Commonwealth Games champion Paspalli Kashyap with a hard fought 12-21, 21-17, 21-19 win in 76 minutes. The Indian had toppled World No 1 and top seed Chen Long of China in the quarter-finals with a 14-21, 21-17, 21-14 win.

There was a major upset in the men’s doubles when World No 1 Lee Yong-dae-Yoo Yeon-seong came unstuck against compatriots Ko Sung-hyun-Shin Baek-shoel in straight sets 17-21, 18-21 in 48 minutes.

The unseeded Sung-hyun-Baek-shoel will take on eighth seeds Fu Haifeng-Zhang of China. The Chinese defeated home favourites Mohammad Ahsan-Hendra Setiawan 22-20, 18-21, 21-15 in 59 minutes.

China’s challenge in the women’s singles was wiped out when former greats Wang Yihan and Wang Shixian fell by the wayside in the semi-finals.

Thailand’s former world champion Ratchanok Intanon (seeded six) handed China’s Wang Shixian (No 5) a 21-19, 21-13 defeat. while Japan’s unseeded Yui Hashimoto Wang Yihan (No 8 seed) brushed aside Wang Yihan with a 21-17, 9-21, 21-17 win in 72 minutes.


Semi-final results

Men’s singles

Kento Momota (Jpn) beat P. Kashyap (Ind) 12-21, 21-17, 21-19

Jan O Jorgensen (Den) beat Marc Zwiebler (Ger) 21-17, 11-5 (rtd)



Ko Sung-hyun-Shin Baek Choel (Kor) beat Lee Yong-dae-Yoo Yeon Seong (Kor) 21-17, 21-18

Fu Haifeng-Zhang Nan (Chn) beat Mohammad Ahsan-Hendra Setiawan (Ina) 22-20, 18-21, 21-15


Women’s singles

Ratchanok Intanon (Tha) beat Wang Shixian (Chn) 21-19, 21-13

Yui Hashimoto (Jpn) beat Wang Yihan (Chn) 21-17, 9-21, 21-17



Tang Jinhua-Tian Qing (Chn) beat Ma Jin-Tang Yuanting (Chn) 21-10, 21-14

Nitya Krishinda Maheswari-Greysia Polii (Ina) beat Yu Yang-Zhong Qianxin (Chn) 20-22, 21=13, 21-14


Mixed doubles

Zhang Nan-Zhao Yunlei (Chn) beat Tontowi Ahmad-Liliyana Natsir (Ina) 16-21, 21-15, 21-18 

Xu Chen-Ma Jin (Chn) beat Joachim Fischer Nielsen-Christinna Pedersen (Den) 21-15, 21-19

- Advertisement -