#Best of the best to officiate at women’s premiere event

#25 officials from 14 countries appointed

#Mixed gender appointments reinforce hockey’s ‘Equally Amazing’ values


The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has today announced the appointments of officials for the Vitality Hockey Women’s World Cup London 2018.

25 officials from 14 countries representing all five continents will be in charge at next year’s showpiece event at Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre in London’s Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park between 21 July and 5 August.

In line with FIH’s ambition to build on its ‘Equally Amazing’ reputation, both men and women feature amongst the appointments for this year’s event.

Australia’s Tammy Standley will assume the role of Technical Delegate, a role she most recently undertook at the Sentinel Homes Hockey World League Final Auckland 2017.

She will be supported by Rio 2016 Olympic Games Technical Delegate Sheila Brown from South Africa who will be a Technical Officer along with USA’s Renee Zelkin, Argentina’s Lorena Rinaldini, England’s Sam Stickland, New Zealand’s Gavin Hawke and Anjali Sharma from India.

Umpiring the matches will be the world’s top women’s officials including FIH Hockey Stars Umpire Award winners Laurine Delforge (2016) from Belgium and South Africa’s Michelle Joubert (2015), the latter one of four Golden Whistle (100 cap) officials at this event.

They will be joined by fellow Golden Whistle umpire Kelly Hudson (NZL) along with Maggie Giddens (USA); Aleisha Neumann (AUS); Irene Presenqui (ARG); Sarah Wilson (SCO); Xiaoying Liu (CHN); Michelle Meister (GER); Amber Church (NZL); Emi Yamada (JPN); Carolina De La Fuente (ARG); Annelize Rostron (RSA); Alison Keogh (IRL) and Ayanna McClean (TTO).

Off-field officials include three Golden Whistle owners – Umpire Managers Ray O’Conner from Ireland and Marelize de Klerk from South Africa, as well as Ireland’s Carol Metchette who will be taking on the role of Video Umpire Coach to officials assuming this role during the competition. The Medical Officer will be Dr Rob Hurry from England.

- Advertisement -