* World Cup Winners the Netherlands take on New Zealand, China and Japan in Pool A

* Defending champions and hosts Argentina compete alongside Australia, England and Germany in Pool B

* Pool B includes an exciting clash between Argentina, 2012 Champions Trophy winners and Australia, 2014 World Cup runners up


International Hockey Federation (FIH) today released the pools and match schedule for the Hockey Champions Trophy in Mendoza, Argentina. The tournament will start on 29th November 2014 and conclude with the Final on 7th December 2014.

This glamorous, exclusive and prestigious tournament will showcase the very best that hockey has to offer, with some of the finest international teams in the women’s game competing to claim the trophy.

Pool A will consist of 2014 World Cup Winners, the Netherlands; Japan, who came 5th in the 2012 Champions Trophy; 2012 Olympic Games Semi-Finalists, New Zealand and China. While in Pool B, defending champions and hosts, Argentina, will play 2014 Commonwealth Games silver medallists, England; 2014 World Cup runners up, Australia and 2012 Champions Trophy Semi-Finalists, Germany.

To date, the Netherlands and Australia both hold six Champions Trophy titles apiece, defending champions Argentina have won the title five times and Germany, China and Korea have all won once.

The opening day of the tournament (Saturday 29 November) will feature all eight teams taking to the field in the Estadio Mendocino de Hockey. The stadium seats 5,000 spectators and was built initially to host the 2013 Women’s Pan American Cup.

The new stadium was greeted with great enthusiasm by hockey fans in Argentina, who were already thinking ahead then to the 2014 Champions Trophy.

This glittering finale to 2014 promises an exciting and action-packed tournament as the Netherlands women will be trying to make it a double following their stunning performance in the 2014 Rabobank Hockey World Cup. Argentina arrive as defending champions and will be on home turf, meanwhile Australia will want to avenge their World Cup defeat by the Netherlands and win a seventh Champions Trophy.

FIH President, Leandro Negre said: “We are greatly looking forward to this event as Argentina always has amazing crowds. The loyalty and dedication of the fans is an inspiration to see.”


Hero Hockey Champions Trophy 2014

Where: Estadio Mendocino de Hockey, Mendoza, Argentina

When: 29 November – 7 December 2014

Participating Teams

Pool A – Netherlands, New Zealand, China, Japan

Pool B – Australia, Argentina, England, Germany


How the teams qualified

Argentina – Host nation and defending champions

England – 2nd 2012 Champions Trophy

Netherlands – 3rd 2012 Champions Trophy

Germany – 4th 2012 Champions Trophy

Japan – 5th 2012 Champions Trophy

Australia – Winner of 2012 Champions Challenge I

China – Invitational place

New Zealand – Invitational place

- Advertisement -