With the World Cup of Golf set to return to Melbourne on November 23-27, this is the final week for players to secure a spot in the field via their position in the Official World Golf Ranking (OWGR).

As of Monday, August 1, positions in the Official World Golf Ranking, which will be used for players and countries to qualify for the World Cup of Golf at Kingston Heath Golf Club, will be officially locked in.

Golf’s final major championship is this week at the U.S. PGA Championship offering players that ability to make a significant jump in the rankings with a strong finish. Last week, Venezuela’s Jhonattan Vegas won the RBC Canadian Open for his second career PGA TOUR victory which moved him from No. 203 to No. 86 in the world, earning him a spot in the field to represent Venezuela should he commit.

“We have arrived at a critical time in identifying the 28 qualifying players who will choose their partner to represent their country at Kingston Heath in November,” said Executive Director Matt Kamienski. “Players not already qualified have one final opportunity to compete for the right to represent their country on global stage in a team-oriented format, and we look forward to soon finalizing the 28 two-man teams that will represent their countries in Melbourne.”

Once qualified, players will have until August 15 to officially commit to the event. After qualifying and committing, those 28 players will select a partner of their choosing from the same country, provided such player is ranked among the top 500 on the Official World Golf Rankings as of either August 1, 2016 or August 22, 2016. Each player will have until August 26 to select his partner.

Tickets and hospitality packages starting at $30 are now available by visiting the World Cup of Golf website at

About the World Cup of Golf:  The 2016 World Cup of Golf will mark the fifth time in the tournament’s history that it will be played in Australia and the first at any course other than Royal Melbourne.

Previous World Cup of Golf events in Australia:

Year       Winning Country/Players           

1959       Australia (Peter Thomson/Kel Nagle)    

1972       Chinese Taipei (Hsieh Min-Nan/Lu Liang-Huan)

1988       United States (Ben Crenshaw/Mark McCumber)

2013       Australia (Jason Day/Adam Scott)

The 2016 tournament will return to a 72-hole, stroke play, two-man team event format.  The first and third days of competition will be the foursomes (alternate shot) format and the second and final days are fourball (best ball) play.

The World Cup of Golf web-site includes a page that lists which players would be qualified if the deadline were today (pending commitments),

- Advertisement -