Albirex Niigata FC picked up their fourth RHB Singapore Cup in a row after thrashing DPMM FC 4-1 in the final that was played at the Jalan Besar Stadium.

Albirex captain Wataru Murofushi led the way with a brace that sandwiched Adam Swandi’s strike, before Hiroyoshi Kamata added a fourth.

Azwan Ali Rahman netted a late consolation goal for DPMM, who fell short in their bid to win the Cup for the first time.

For their effort, Albirex received SGD70,000 (USD 50,600) while DPMM FC won USD45,000 (USD 32,500)..

Other than picking up the Singapore Cup four times in a row, Albirex have also made a clean sweep of trophies for the third year running, having been crowned Great Eastern-Hyundai Singapore Premier League champions last month on top of defending the Great Eastern Community Shield earlier this year.

- Advertisement -