By Rizal Abdullah
Malaysian shuttlers achieved a grand double in the Victor International Series 2017 in Surabaya by winning the women’s singles and women’s doubles titles at the Sudirman Badminton Hall in Surabaya, Indonesia on Sunday.
Unseeded S. Kisona continued her giant killing feats in the women’s singles to win first international title with a come-from-behind 10-21, 21-16, 21-19 win over Indonesia’s third seed Gregoria Mariska in an hour-long final.
Earlier the 19-year-old Malaysian scalped Japan’s sixth seed Natsuki Nidaira 15-21, 21-19, 21-14 in the semi-finals after pulling off the biggest upset in the quarter-finals when she knocked out Indonesia’s top seed Ruselli Hartawan in straight sets 21-19, 21-17.
In the women’s doubles final Malaysia’s newly formed pair of Tee Jing Yi-Soong Fie Cho made a breakthrough in only their second international tournament – winning a three-set 69-minute battle against Indonesian second seeds Dian Fitriani-Nadya Melati 21-16, 16-21, 21-19.
In last week’s Thailand International Challenge the Malaysians reached the quarter-finals in their international debut before falling to a 21-17, 14-21, 21-15 defeat to Japan’s Misako Aratama-Akane Watanabe.
For Jing Yi it is memorable win in the women’s doubles after the former Malaysian number one women’s shuttler gave up the singles to save her badminton career. It was also a memorable win for Fie Cho – the 2015 Sea Games women’s doubles gold medallist with Amelia Alicia Anscelly who quit the national team recently.
Fie Cho is making a comeback to competitive badminton after undergoing left knee surgery last year. The injury nearly ruined her badminton career and the win in Surabaya has given her a new lease of life in badminton.
Meanwhile the men’s singles final was an all-Indonesia battle with second seed Shesar Hiren Rhustavito coming off winner when Dionysius Hayom Rhumbaka quit mid-way in the first set with the score at 11-4 in the champion’s favour. 
RESULTS (All Finals)
Men’s singles
Shesar Hiren Rhutavito (Ina) beat Dionysius Hayon Rumbaka (Ina) 11-4, (rtd)
Men’s Doubles
Wahyu Nayaka Pangkaryanira-Ade Yusuf Santoso (Ina) beat Kenas Adi Haryanto-Moh Reza Pahlevi Isfani (Ina) 21-18, 16-21, 21-19
Women’s singles
S. Kisona (Mas) beat Gregoria Mariska (Ina) 10-21, 21-16, 21-19
Women’s Doubles
Soong Fie Cho-Tee Jing Yi (Mas) beat Dian Fitriani-Nadya Melati (Ina) 21-16, 16-21, 21-19
Mixed Doubles
Ou Xuanyi-Liu Lin (Chn) beat Lukhi Apri Nugroho-Ririn Amelia (Ina) 22-20, 21-11
- Advertisement -