# N.Sembilan down Melaka to retain men’s title

One could not play the final due to the sudden death of a family member and one had to leave the court with a fractured arm – both key players in the team -but it did not deter Kuala Lumpur as they upset defending champions Selangor 59-57 to win the women’s title in the 59th Agong Cup National Basketball Championships on Monday.

In a thrilling all-Klang Valley final played at the Gem In Mall in Cyberjaya the city girls rode on sharpshooter Yap Fook Yee’s contribution of 22 points during the 38 minutes she was on court.

Others who made it count were Yong Shin Min and Ting Chiau Teng with eight points each while skipper Nur Izzati Yaakob and Khoo Kar Syuen contributed seven points each.

Saw Wei Yin was the only player to score doubles figures for Selangor with 19 points. Other significant scorers were Hiew Ky Lie (nine points) and Doris Kimberley Reed and Ooi Poh Yee with eight points each.

A jubilant KL manager Looi Seng Loong said: “There was plenty of drama in our win. We lost a player who had to leave the team before the final following the death of a family member.

“Another fractured her arm following an incident on the court and could not continue the match. Both were key players but our players did not let the setbacks effect our play.

“Since this final was played on Christmas Day it is a perfect Christmas present for the people of Kuala Lumpur. It is a fantastic feeling to win the title by defeating the defending champions.”

In the men’s final Negri Sembilan turned on the heat in the last two quarters to stop a determined Melaka side for a 78-64 win to retain the title.

Wong Yi Hon with 18 points was Negri’s topscorer followed by Teo Kok Hon with 16 points. Others who reached double figures for the champions were Perry Lee Lim and Ting Chun Hong with 15 and 10 points respectively.

Chin Zhi Shin and Ma Chee Khuen with 15 points each and G. Batumalai with 10 points were Melaka’s main contributors in their 64 point total.

In the third placing playoff Melaka beat Johor in the women’s category while Sarawak defeated Police 68-61 in the men’s category.




Final: N. Sembilan beat Melaka 78-64

3rd place playoff: Sarawak beat Police 68-61


Final: K. Lumpur beat Selangor 59-57

3rd place playoff: Melaka beat Johor 62-59

- Advertisement -