# Asian champion Jun Hao upsets Japanese top seed Igarashi
# Zii Jia, Iskandar, Chi Wing, also advance with second round victories
Reigning Asian Junior Under-19 champion Leong Jun Hao stunned top seed Yu Igarashi of Japan in the second round in the Celcom Axiata Malaysia International Challenge on Wednesday.
The talented Malaysian, who was runners-up in the recent World Junior Championships in Jakarta, tamed his Japanese opponent 21-17, 21-11 in 40 minutes to earn a third round clash against compatriot Lim Chi Wing.
Chi Wing, who is the reigning national champion, defeated privateer Muhammad Ziyad Md Tah 21-19, 21-10 in 32 minutes. The last time the two Malaysians crossed paths was in the national championships with Chi Wing coming off winner against Jun Hao in three games.
Second seed Lee Zii Jia is also through to the third round after an easy 21-12, 21-14 win over qualifier Datu Mohd Saffuan Nizam Sardik.
However, it was the end of the road for fourth seed Soong Joo Ven who went out tamely to Indonesia at the Stadium Perbandanan in Pasir Gudang, Johor – losing 9-21, 18-21 in 36 minutes.
Sixth seed Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin came through three games 21-14, 13-21, 21-7 against Indonesia’s Chico Aura Dwi Wardoyo. For a place in the quarter-finals the Malaysian faces another Indonesian hurdle in Andrew Martens. Andrew defeated Zulhelmi Zulkifli 23-21, 18-21, 21-12.
Other Malaysians who won their second round matches were seventh seed Goh Giap Chin and Chong Yee Han. Giap Chin beat Lin Chin Hsuan of Chinese Taipei 21-18, 21-12 while Yee Han triumphed 21-13, 21-17 against Vietnam’s Pham Cao Cuong 21-13, 21-17. – BY RIZAL ABDULLAH 
Men’s singles
Leong Jun Hao (Mas) beat Yu Igarashi (Jpn) 21-17, 21-11
Lim Chi Wing (Mas) beat Muhammad Ziyad Md Tah (Mas) 21-19, 21-10
Chong Yee Han (Mas) beat Pham Cao Cuong (Vie) 21-13, 21-17
Firman Abdul Kholik (Ina) beat Soong Joo Ven (Mas) 21-9, 21-18
Goh Giap Chin (Mas) beat Lin Chiu Hsuan (Tpe) 21-18, 21-12
Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin (Mas) beat Chico Aura Dwi Wardoyo (Ina) 21-14, 13-21, 21-7
Andrew Marten (Ina) beat Zulhelmi Zulkifli (Mas) 23-21, 18-21, 21-12
Lee Zii Jia (Mas) beat Datu Mohd Saffuan Nizam Sardik (Mas) 21-12, 21-14
- Advertisement -