Belgium’s Red Lions to face India at 1830, with Australia’s Kookaburras playing Great Britain at 2100 CEST

Following the completion of the competition quarter-finals on Wednesday (1st July), the match schedule for the men’s semi-finals of the FINTRO Hockey World League Semi-Finals has been announced.
The men’s semis will take place on Friday 3rd July, with host nation Belgium facing Asian Games champions India, while reigning world champions Australia will go head to head with Great Britain. 
The 5th-8th place play-offs will take place first, followed by the semi-finals. The running order is as follows. All timings are Central European Summer Time (UTC/GMT +2):
5-8 place play-offs:
1300: Ireland v Pakistan
1530: Malaysia v France
Semi-final matches:
1830: Belgium v India
2100: Australia v Great Britain
India’s achievement of reaching the competition semi-finals has determined the complete eight-team line-up for the end of year showpiece Hockey World League Final.
India are hosting that event and will be joined by Australia, Great Britain and Belgium from the HWL Semi-Final in Antwerp as well as Germany, Argentina, Netherlands and Canada, who took the top four places at the recent Argentina HWL Semi-Final in Buenos Aires.
As they have already qualified for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games by virtue of winning the 2014 Asian Games, a top three finish for India in Antwerp will create an Olympic opening for the highest ranked of the fourth place finishers from the two HWL Semi-Final events held in Argentina and Belgium.
If India finish fourth, then only the top three from each competition will be confirmed for the Olympic Games at this stage.
More details about the men’s and women’s FINTRO Hockey World League Semi-Finals including match highlights, imagery, scheduling, reports as well as all competition information can be found
To see an infographic explaining the qualification process for the men’s Hockey World League Finals,click here
To see an infographic explaining the qualification process for the men’s competition at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, click here.
- Advertisement -