New Zealand’s Sean Riordan knows he has to hold his nerve for a career defining victory as he continues to lead the RM200,000 (approx. US$60,000) PGM Port Dickson Championship with a third round two-under-par 69 on Friday.

The overnight leader continues to enjoy a comfortable three-shot cushion with his three day total of 11-under-par 202 at the Port Dickson Golf and Country Club while Malaysia’s Kemarol Baharin kept the local hopes alive by returning with a 67 to share second place with American Micah Lauren Shin and Chanat Sakulpolphaisan of Thailand at the Asian Development Tour (ADT) event.

Searching for his maiden ADT win this week, Riordan got off well again with a birdie on the second hole before following up with another at the par-four 12th.

The 26-year-old dropped his only shot of the day on 15 but would close with another birdie on 18.

While it was not anywhere near his second round heroics of a 62, Riordan still took pride in his battling performance.

“I only missed two greens in regulation today and overall I played solid.

“I missed the grade at Asian Tour Qualifying school in January and a win tomorrow would really do wonders for my career,” said Riordan.

Riordan is aware he cannot afford to slip up in his last 18 holes and will be looking towards his local caddie to help him calm his nerves.

“The heart rate has to stay low and it’s important to keep talking to my caddie.

“He’s a great guy from Kuala Lumpur and I know he will help me remain calm especially going down the last stretch in those final nine holes,” said Riordan.

The PGM Port Dickson Championship is the 13th leg of this season’s ADT Schedule.

Since it was inaugurated in 2010, the ADT has grown from five events in the first year to a record 21 tournaments in 2014. The ADT has already published a provisional 2015 Schedule of a 22 tournaments.

For more information on the ADT, please visit


Leading third round scores

202- Sean RIORDAN (New Zealand) 71-62-69

205- Micah Lauren SHIN (USA) 69-70-66, Chanat SAKULPOLPHAISAN (Thailand) 69-70-66, Kemarol BAHARIN (Malaysia) 68-70-67

206- Hans JAMIL (Malaysia) 70-67-69, Airil Rizman ZAHARI (Malaysia) 71-65-70, M. Sasidaran (Malaysia) 70-66-70

207- R. Nachimuthu (Malaysia) 68-71-68, Shaaban HUSSIN (Malaysia) 70-68-69

208- Paul DONAHOO (Australia) 71-71-66, Annop TANGKAMOLPRASERT (Thailand) 74-64-70

- Advertisement -