sufog.2The 17-lap World Supersport race held at the Autodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari was won by Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) after another intriguing duel between the Turkish rider and one of his closest rivals Jules Cluzel (MV Agusta Reparto Corse).

The pair smashed the lap record repeatedly as they pulled away from the chasing pack with Sofuoglu eventually taking the win, the 30th of his WSS career and the third in a row in 2015, to extend his championship lead after Cluzel made the smallest mistake at Variante Bassa on the final tour to miss out on the victory by 0.883s.

Last year’s race winner Lorenzo Zanetti (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) was unable to live with the pace of the front two, having to be content with third after the Italian overhauled PJ Jacobsen and Marco Faccani (San Carlo Puccetti Racing) who were fourth and fifth respectively.

Ratthapark Wilairot (CORE” Motorsport Thailand Honda) led Gino Rea (CIA Landlords Insurance Honda) over the line, the two locked together for the race duration, taking 6th, 7th ahead of Rea’s team mates Riccardo Russo and Martin Cardenas, while Roberto Rolfo (Lorini Honda) rounded out the top ten.

Kyle Smith (Pata Honda World Supersport Team) crashed out of contention on lap 3, he was able to re-join to claim the final point in 15th.

WSS Imola – Race
1 – Kenan Sofuoglu Kawasaki Puccetti Racing
2 – Jules Cluzel MV Agusta Reparto Corse +0.833
3 – Lorenzo Zanetti MV Agusta Reparto Corse +9.624

Standings (5 of 12 rounds completed)
1 – Kenan Sofuoglu Kawasaki Puccetti Racing – 105
2 – PJ Jacobsen Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres – 68
3 – Jules Cluzel MV Agusta Reparto Corse – 65

- Advertisement -