With three players qualifying for the semi-finals Johor are assured of a place in the Boys’ Under-16 singles final in the 100PLUS National Junior Circuit Zone C (1st-leg) in Putrajaya.

After the completion of the quarter-final matches played at Kompleks Kejiranan in Presint 11 on Wednesday it will be an all-Johor semifinal between 3/4 seed Muhammad Affan Atabek and Md Ashraff Daniel Zakaria.

The other semi-final will be between Muniandy Sharveen (5/8 seed) and Melaka Ahmad Qamarul Mustafa Kamal.

Ashraff ended giant killer Hooi Shao Herng’s run in the tournament with a hard fought 21-14, 14-21, 21-11 win in 45 minutes. K. Lumpur’s Shao Herng had ousted top seed Lee Kai Wen of Putrajaya in the second round.

Affan was also taken the full distance by teammate Jason Lau Wei Jian before prevailing 21-18, 15-21, 21-16 in 54 minutes while Muniandy (5/8) needed 58 minutes to subdue Putrajaya’s Tan Jia Jie 25-23, 14-21, 21-19.

Melaka’s hope Qamarul had an easier straight games 21-18, 21-18 win against K. Lumpur’s Lee Qi Hong.

Kuala Lumpur ruled in the Girls’ Under-16 singles with three of their players making the semi-finals.

The city girls who made the last four were Yeoh Zi Xuan, Lee Yue Qi and second seed Odelia Wong Qiao Shi. Melaka’s 3/4 seed Tan Yan Yi is the odd one in the semis.

Zi Yuan and Yue Qi will feature in an all-Kuala Lumpur clash for a place in the final while Odelia will be up against Yan Yi.

Meanwhile, Johor have also assured themselves of place in the Boys’ Under-14 final with teammates Tai Ming Wei (3/4) facing Shyu Hao Zhe in the semi-finals.

The other semi-final is an all-Kuala Lumpur clash between Ting Wen and Chin Jun Xiang.




Boys’ Under-16

Md Ashraff Daniel Zakaria (JH) beat Hooi Shao Herng (KL) 21-14, 14-21, 21-11

Muhammad Affan Atabek (JH) beat Jason Lau Wei Jian (JH) 21-18, 15-21, 21-16

Muniandy Sharveen (JH) beat Tan Jia Jie (PJ) 25-23, 14-21, 21-19

Ahmad Qamarul Mustafa Kamal (MK) beat Lee Qi Hong (KL) 21-18, 21-18


Girls’ Under-16

Yeoh Zi Xuan (KL) beat Davincy Saha Dylyvya Saha (JH) 21-4, 21-10

Lee Yue Qi (KL) beat I. Lenisyah (MK) 21-16, 11-21, 21-16

Tan Yan Yi (MK) beat Olivia Hiu Liying (SW) 21-9, 21-12

Odelia Wong Qiao Shi (KL) beat Goh Jee Lien (KL) 21-11, 21-18

- Advertisement -