Venue change for AFF Suzuki Cup qualification round match

Follow by Email

Organisers confirmed today that the venue for the opening match of the Qualification Round in this year’s AFF Suzuki Cup has been changed.

Timor-Leste will now play Brunei Darussalam ― in the first-leg of the qualification round on September 1 ― at the Kuala Lumpur Football Stadium, Cheras, Malaysia, and not as per originally planned at the National Stadium in Dili, East Timor.

Officials felt that the stadium in Dili was close to match readiness but there were concerns over floodlighting.

The second-leg will be held at the Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium in Brunei Darussalam on September 8, with the winning team over the two-legged Qualification Round matches making it through to the Group stage in November.

They will join defending champions Thailand in Group B, along with Indonesia, the Philippines, and Singapore.

In Group A, Vietnam, Malaysia, Myanmar, Cambodia and Laos will battle it out.

The AFF Suzuki Cup kicks off this year with the first Group stage matches to be played on November 8 while the final will be held on December 15.

Cambodia will play Malaysia and Laos will play Vietnam in the opening games on November 8.

Please follow and like us: