Safawi and JDT big winners at National Football Awards

Follow by Email
The night belonged to international Safawi Rasid – currently described as Malaysia’s hottest football property – and his team Johor Darul Takzim (JDT) at the National Football Awards in Kuala Lumpur on Monday night.
The Terengganu-born Safawi virtually had his hands full as walked away with a hat-trick as he swept the Most Valuable Player (MPV); Best Midfielder and also the Most Promising Player awards.
To top it off five-time Malaysian Super League champions JDT virtually made a clean sweep as the Best Team, Best Supporters, Best Social Media and Best Website to establish itself as the complete team in the Malaysian Football League.
To add to JDT’s celebrations Farizal Marlias won the Best Goalkeeper, Singaporean Hariss Harun won the Best Asean Player award in a glittering ceremony held at the Pullman Hotel.
Perak skipper Shahrul Saad who led his team to Malaysia Cup victory with 4-1 (in a penalty shootout after a 3-3 draw in extra-time) win over Terengganu in the final in a controversial final at the National Stadium, Bukit Jalil on Oct 27, was named the Best Defender.
Another of Malaysia’s rising star, Kedah’s Akhyar Rashid, was named the Best Striker while Terengganu’s English-born Lee Tuck won the Most Popular Player.
Perak’s Australian coach Mehmet Durakovic brushed aside Pahang’s Dollah Salleh and Felda United’s B. Satianathan for the Best Coach award.
Selangor’s Rufino Segovia with 31 goals took the Golden Boot. The Spaniard was also the Super’s top scorer with the same number of goals while Felcra FC’s Brazilian import Casagrande was the Premier League’s top scorer with 19 goals.
On the local front, Kelantan’s Shafiq Shaharudin (Super League) and Sarawak’s former international Bobby Gonzales (Premier League) won the top scorer’s award with six and 13 goals respectively.
Most Valuable Player: Safawi Rasid (JDT)
Best Goalkeeper: Farizal Marlias (JDT)
Best Defender: Shahrul Saad (Perak)
Best Midfielder: Safawi Rasid (JDT)
Best Striker: Akhyar Rasid (Kedah)
Most Promising Player: Safawi Rasid (JDT)
Most Popular Player: Lee Tuck (Terengganu)
Best Foreign Player: Rufino Segovia (Selangor)
Best Asean Player: Hariss Harun (JDT)
Golden Boot: Rufino Segovia (Selangor, 31 goals)
Super League Top Scorer: Rufino Segovia (Selangor, 31 goals)
Super League Top Local Scorer: Shafiq Shahrudin (Kelantan, 6 goals) 
Premier League Top Scorer: Casagandre (Felcra FC 19 goals)
Premier League Top Local Scorer: Bobby Gonzales (Sarawak, 13 goals)
Best Coach: Mehmet Durakovic (Perak)
Fair Play Award: Melaka United
Best Team: JDT
Best Supporters: JDT
Best Social Media: JDT
Best Website: JDT
Please follow and like us: