IMG_2196Myanmar, powered by their reserves, defeated Brunei DS 3-1 to claim their first victory of the AFF Suzuki Cup Qualifying round here at the National Sports Complex Stadium tonight. A double substitution at the start of the second half by coach Radojko Avramovic produced wonders for Myanmar last night.

After a goalles first half, Avramovic brought in Min Min Thu and Kyi Lin for the injured Yan Paing and Tin Win Aung. Within two minutes, Min Min Thu was on the scoresheet while Kyi Lin sealed the win with a superb solo effort in the 82nd minute. Kyaw Ko Ko scored the second in the 54th minute.

“It was not an easy game for sure as Brunei introduced several players who did not play in the last game,” said Raddy Avramovic, the chief coach of Myanmar. “The long balls were difficult but I thought that we dealt with them pretty well.”

Today’s win pushed Myanmar up to second spot with four points in the standings behind Laos who remain the leaders are six points. Cambodia which surprised Timor Leste 3-2 in an earlier tie today are third with three points.

Although both Brunei and Myanmar had their chances, none of their players were able to get  that all-important shot through. Myanmar had the better share of the first half and came close on several occasions.

Kyaw Ko Ko had a whiff of goal halfway through the half but his freekick to the top corner was pushed away by goalkeeper Azman Ilham Hj Md Noor. A few minutes later, Ko Ko stormed in from the right and blasted his shot just wide.

The two new subs turned out to be a smart move from the wily Avramovic. The duo immediately turned up the heat with Min Min Thu hammering in a rebound off the goalkeeper. The Myanmar players were charged up by the goal and shot into attacking mode. And in the 54th minute, Ko Ko raced into the box and somehow managed to squeeze his shot from a narrow angle.

Brunei took advantage of a defensive slip-up to pull one back through Adi Said in the 78th minute. Kyi Lin restored the two-goal lead when he breezed through the defence and flicked his shot over the diving keeper.

“I am disappointed with the results but not the performance,” added Brunei coach Stephen Kean. 


BRUNEI: Azman Ilham Hj Md Noor (GK), Awangku Mohammad Fakharrazi Pg Hj Hassan, Muhammad Azwan Ali Rahman, Azwan Muhammad Saleh, Mohd Hendra Azam Mohd Idris, Muhammad Nurikwan Othman (Sairol Sahari 76th), Muhd Subhi Abdillah Bakir-cpt (Muhammad Amalul Ariffin Shah Said 75th) , Reduan Petra, Adi Said, Muhammad Shah Razen Said, Ak Yura Indera Putera Pg Yunus

Scorers: Adi Said (78th)

Yellow: Muhd Subhi Abdillah Bakir (47th), Muhammad Azwan Ali Rahman (53rd)

Head coach: Stephen Kean


MYANMAR: Thiha Si Thu (GK), Aung Zaw, Davia Htan, Khin Maung Lwin (Cpt), Yan Aung Kyaw, Yan Paing (Kyi Lin 46th), Kyaw Ko Ko, Tin Win Aung (Min Min Thu 46th), Win Min Htut, Soe Min Oo (Si Thu Aung), Nay Myo Aung

Yellow: Yan Paing (20th), Yan Aung Kyaw (60th)

Scorers: Min Min Thu (48th), Kyaw Ko Ko (54th), Kyi Lin (82nd)

Head coach: Stephen Kean



Referee: Adham Mohammed (Jor)

Assistant referee 1: Ahmad Moannes (Jor)

Assistant referee 2: Talipzhanov Ismailzhan (Kgz)

Fourth official: Mashentsev Dimitri (Kgz)

Match Commissioner: Chaichok Poompuang (Tha)

Referee Assessor: Mohd Ali Samad (Sin)

General Coordinator: Joseph Samuel (AFF)



Timor Leste 2 Cambodia 3

Brunei 1 Myanmar 3



Saturday, 18th Oct 2014

1530: Cambodia vs Myanmar

1830: Laos vs Timor Leste

Monday, 20th Oct 2014

1700: Myanmar vs Laos (National Sports Complex Stadium)

1700: Cambodia vs Brunei (Chao Anouvong Stadium)


LAOS 2 2 0 0 7 4 3 6
MYANMAR 2 1 1 0 3 1 2 4
TIMOR LESTE 3 1 1 1 6 5 1 4
CAMBODIA 2 1 0 1 5 5 0 3
BRUNEI DS 3 0 0 3 5 11 -6 0
- Advertisement -