scg-thailand-open-2016# Mixed doubles pair win their first Grand Prix Gold title

# Tanongsak win’s men’s singles for Thailand

# Japan’s Aya Ohori upsets Busanan to win women’s singles


By Rizal Abdullah

Malaysia’s No 2 mixed doubles pair Tan Kian Meng-Lai Pei Jing made it count in the USD120,000 Thailand Open Grand Prix Gold – their first mixed doubles title in the second-tier tournament at Nimibutr Stadium in Bangkok on Sunday.

The Malaysians held off a late challenge from Hong Kong’s Tang Chun Man-Tse Ying Suet to win 21-16, 22-20 in the 39 minute final and pocket USD9,480 in prize money that came with the title.

The Malaysians won the Vietnam Open title in July but lost in four other finals – in the Malaysian Masters (January), the Polish Open International Challenge (March), The Taiwan Open Grand Prix Gold (June) and the Indonesian Masters Grand Prix Gold in September.

Thailand were favourites to win the women’s singles title but Japan’s unseeded Aya Ohori pulled off a stunning upset to beat third seed and world No 16 Busanan Ongbamrungphan 25-23, 21-8 for the title in straight sets 25-23, 21-8 in a 49 minutes.

Thailand, however, won the men’s singles title through Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk after Puttita Supajirakul-Sapsiree Taerattanachai gave the home fans plenty to cheer to win the women’s doubles.

Indonesia’s Berry Angriawan-Rian Agung Saputro, the No 2 seeds, were given a tough ride before they could the men’s doubles title against Japanese opponents Takuto Inoue-Yuki Kaneko. The Indonesians won 17-21, 21-14, 21-18 in 60 minutes.

Puttita Supajirakul-Sapsiree Taerattanachai, the top seeds in the women’s doubles secured a 21-12, 21-17 win over Japan’s No 5 seeds Mayu Matsumoto-Wakana Nagahara in the final.

Local favourite and fifth seed Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk, the world No 26 eased to the men’s singles title with a 21-15, 21-16 win over second seed Sony Dwi Kuncoro of Indonesia.


RESULTS (All Finals)

Men’s Singles

Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk (Tha) beat Sony Dwi Kuncoro (Ina) 21-15, 21-16


Men’s Doubles

Berry Angriawan-Rian Agung Saputro (Ina) beat Takuto Inoue-Yuki Kaneko (Jpn) 17-21, 21-14, 21-18


Women’s Singles

Aya Ohori (Jpn) beat Busanan Ongbamrungphan (Tha) 25-23, 21-8


Women’s Doubles

Puttita Supajirakul-Sapsiree Taerattanachai (Tha) beat Mayu Matsumoto-Wakana Nagahara (Jpn) 21-12, 21-17


Mixed Doubles

Tan Kian Meng-Lai Pei Jing (Mas) beat Tang Chun Man-Tse Ying Suet (Hkg) 21-16, 22-20

- Advertisement -