# Indonesia and China to defend their men’s and women’s title in Alor Setar¬†
# Asian meet to serve as Thomas Cup and Uber Cup qualifier
Indonesia and China, the defending men’s and women’s champions are among the Asian badminton giants who have confirmed their entries to next year’s Badminton Asia Men’s and Women’s Team Championships.
Malaysia will host the Asian meet in Alor Setar, Kedah from Feb 6-11 which will also serve as the continental qualifier for the Thomas Cup and Uber Cup Finals which will be played at Impact Arena in Bangkok, Thailand from May 20-27.
Fifteen teams will compete in the men’s category and 13 in the women’s category. The Asian Championships will be held at the Sultan Abdul Halim Stadium in Alor Setar.
Vietnam will not compete in the men’s event but will compete in the women’s even. Three countries – Kazakhstan, Myanmar and Nepal – will not compete in the women’s event.
The men’s teams are China, Hong Kong, India, Japan, Kazakhstan, South Korea, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Chinese Taipei (Taiwan).¬†
The semi-finalists from the Asia Team Championships from each Men’s and Women’s Team categories will qualify for the Thomas Cup and Uber Cup Finals.
The Badminton Asia Team Championships will be decided on three singles and two doubles in both men’s and women’s categories.
The group stage will be decided on round robin format from Feb 6-8 with the top two teams from each group qualifying for knockout stage for the quarter-finals. The knockout stage will begin on Feb 9. The semi-finals will be played on Feb 10 and the finals on Feb 11.
The championships, held in even years, will be held at the Sultan Abdul Halim Stadium in Alor Setar, Kedah. 
Badminton Asia’s Chief Executive Officer Mr Kenny Goh reminded all the participating countries that the submission of entries by Players Name (online) is¬†Jan 16 2018.
Indonesia won the men’s title at the last championships held in Hyderabad, India in 2016 with are hard fought 3-2 win over Japan.¬†In the semi-finals Japan beat South Korea 3-0 while Indonesia defeated India 3-1.
In the women’s final China beat Japan 3-2 for the title. In the semi-finals China beat Korea 3-0 while Japan outclassed Thailand 3-0. –¬†BY RIZAL ABDULLAH
Men                                             Women
China                                           China
Hong Kong China                          Hong Kong China
Indonesia                                      Indonesia
India                                             India
Japan                                           Japan
Kazakhstan                                   Korea
Korea                                            Malaysia
Malaysia                                       Maldives
Maldives                                       Philippines
Myanmar                                      Singapore
Nepal                                            Thailand
Philippines                                    Chinese Taipei
Singapore                                      Vietnam
Chinese Taipei
- Advertisement -