International Hockey Federation (FIH)

Five nations granted full membership

New nations highlight growth of game globally

Five national associations were granted full membership of the International Hockey Federation (FIH) at the 45th FIH Congress in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, earlier today.
Current member National Associations voted to approve full membership rights to Bolivia, Burkina Faso, Swaziland, Nicaragua and Colombia following substantial development of the sport in those nations in recent years.
This news comes following updates to delegates on FIH’s 10-year Hockey Revolution strategy. With an aim of reaching 152 National Associations by 2024, FIH are well on their way to achieving this target, with these new nations taking the total membership to 137.
Out-going President Leandro Negre congratulated each of the Associations joining today. He said: “Bolivia, Burkina Faso, Swaziland, Nicaragua and Colombia have all shown an incredible desire to develop hockey in their nations over the last couple of years.
Each of them are fully engaged with our 10-year Hockey Revolution strategy and as such are helping us achieve our aim of making hockey a global game that inspires the next generation. Hockey certainly has an exciting future with more and more nations engaging with our sport as it continues to grow.”
To read about all the latest news from the Hockey Revolution Part 2 Conference, featuring the 45th FIH Congress, visit the official event website by clicking here
- Advertisement -