Last season’s Super League champion Johor Darul Ta’zim (JDT) emerged the winner for the second consecutive year of the Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah Cup after defeating Selangor 7-6 in a penalty shootout, after playing to a 1-1 draw here tonight.

JDT first won the cup last year when they subdued Pahang 2-0.

The squad under coach Mario Gomez clinched their victory via penalty kicks converted by Safiq Rahim, Mohd Nazrin Mohd Nawi, Hariss Harun, Mohd Amirul Hadi Zainal, Marcos Antonio, Mohd Aidil Zafuan Abd Razak and S.Kunanlan at Tan Sri Hassan Yunos Stadium in Larkin.

Earlier, both teams were tied 1-1, despite six minutes of additional time.

In the first half, both sides were on the offensive to find their first goal before the Southern Tigers’ midfielder, Hariss Harun opened the score at the last minute of the first half from a corner taken by team captain, Safiq.

In the second half, Mohd Hafiz Kamal slotted in the equaliser for Selangor at the 60th minute and the score remained until the final whistle.

The victory enabled the Southern Tigers to lift the 2016 Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah Cup which was presented by the Football Association of Malaysia (FAM) deputy president Datuk Mokhtar Ahmad.

The match was witnessed by almost 25,000 fans.

The 2013 and 2012 charity cup champions were the Malaysian Armed Forces (ATM) and The Red Warriors (Kelantan) respectively. – BERNAMA

- Advertisement -