Reigning Order of Merit champion David Lipsky of the United States will spearhead the Asian Tour charge at the Maybank Malaysian Open next week.

Since 1999, Thongchai Jaidee, Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Arjun Atwal, Anthony Kang, Vijay Singh and Charlie Wi have won the prestigious Maybank Malaysian Open, making it a happy hunting ground for the Asian Tour stars.

After a successful 2014 season, Lipsky will be among the heavyweights to contend for the US$3 million event sanctioned by the Asian Tour and European Tour at the Kuala Lumpur Golf and Country Club.

He will be joined by Anirban Lahiri of India, Prom Meesawat of Thailand, big-hitting Scott Hend of Australia and the bubbly Angelo Que of the Philippines, who have a combined total of 16 Asian Tour titles.

Former Asian Tour number ones Kiradech, Thaworn Wiratchant, who holds an unprecedented 18 Asian Tour victories, Jyoti Randhawa, Atwal and Juvic Pagunsan of the Philippines will also feature at the Maybank Malaysian Open which will be the curtain raiser for the 2015 Asian Tour’s season.

Lipsky enjoyed a spectacular season last year when he became the first Asian Tour member to win the Omega European Masters in Switzerland which was also sanctioned by the Asian Tour and European Tour.

Following another three top-10 results, the Korean-American wrapped up the 2014 season in style as he finished atop the Order of Merit with earnings of US$713,901.

A return to the Maybank Malaysian Open will be the perfect venue to kick-start his reign as the Asian Tour number one as he finished tied third in the 2012 showpiece.

“Winning a co-sanctioned event in Switzerland and doing all this in one year is something which was unexpected because I did it so fast but now I know that if I play well, I can compete against the best,” said Lipsky.

“Last year was good and reflecting back on it, I couldn’t have been more proud of what I’ve achieved,” he added.

Prom, who finished third on the Order of Merit last year, hopes to produce another solid result at the Maybank Malaysian Open where he has claimed three top-20s in the last three editions.

“I enjoyed a good season last year and I’ve got a lot of confidence to play against world-class players. I just want to keep doing what I’ve been doing and try to get off to a good start to the season,” said Prom.

Lee Westwood of England will defend his title at the Maybank Malaysian Open. Victor Dubuisson of France, 2010 US Open Champion Graeme McDowell, Stephen Gallacher, Paul McGinley and Miguel Angel Jimenez are also in the elite field.

- Advertisement -