Vivian Hoo-Woon Khe Wei.9

# Soo Teck Zhi fails to deliver crucial point for men’s team in 3-2 defeat to India

# Women whitewashed by Thailand 3-0


The drum beating Indian supporters had plenty to cheer as H.S. Prannoy delivered the crucial point for host India for a 3-2 win over Malaysia in the men’s quarter-final in the Asia Team Championships in Hyderabad on Friday.

In the women’s category the Malaysian women were no match for Thailand and were soundly beaten 3-0.

With the defeats Malaysia will now have to wait until April to know their fate if they will qualify for the Thomas Cup and Uber Cup Finals in Kunshan,China from May 15-22.

Rankings will come into the picture and Badminton Association of Malaysia (BAM) technical director Morten Frost is 99 per cent sure Malaysia will be in Kunshan.

“We are ranked sixth in the world while Japan, China, Korea and Indonesia have made the last four from Hyderabad as the three places will be based on rankings,” said the Dane.

The women too can make the Uber Cup Finals based on rankings.

The Asian meet also served as the qualifiers for the Thomas Cup and Uber Cup with the top four teams going to China.

But it was the men’s India – Malaysia match that was the main draw card after the Malaysians staged a strong rally to come back from 2-0 down to send the tie down the wire.

India won the first two points through K. Srikanth who swept to a 21-14, 21-15 win over Zulfadli Zulkifli in 48 minutes before Manu Attri-B. Sumeeth Reddy clinched a 21-10, 20-22, 21-16 win in 50 minutes over Low Juen Shen-Tan Kian Meng in the first doubles.

India looked to finishing off the tie in three but national champion Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin put Malaysia back in the hunt with a comprehensive 17-21, 21-12, 21-16 win over Ajay Jayaram in 57 minutes.It was an inspiring performance by the Johor-lad.

However, world No 66 Soo Teck Zhi failed to deliver against H. S. Prannoy and lost 2-12, 22-20 to the Indian who is ranked 27 in the world.





(India first)

Srikanth beat Zulfadli Zulkifli 21-14, 21-15

Manu Attri-B. Sumeeth Reddy beat Low Juen Shen-Tan Kian Meng 21-10, 20-22, 21-16

Ajay Jayaram lost to Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin 21-17, 12-21, 16-21

Pranaav Jerry Chopra-Akshay Dewalkar lost to Ong Yew Sin-Teo Yi Ee 14-21, 21-14, 12-21

H.S. Prannoy beat Soo Teck Zhi 21-12, 22-20




(Thailand first)

Ratchanok Intanon beat Ho Yen Mei 21-6, 21-9

Puttita Supajirakul-Sapsiree Taerattanachai beat Vivian Hoo-Woon Khe Wei 21-18, 21-17

Busanan Ongbumrungphan beat Lim Yin Fun 21-7, 21-12

- Advertisement -