# Women’s doubles Yin Loo-Cheng Wen fall in the semi-finals

By Rizal Abdullah

Malaysia’s campaign in the Syed Modi International Badminton Championships came to an end when the women’s doubles pair of Lim Yin Loo-Yap Cheng Wen failed to make the finals in Lucknow, India.

The third seeds from Malaysia were the only hope of a rostrum finish but the Malaysians came unstuck in the 50 minute match against top seeds Kamilla Rytter Juhl-Christinna Pedersen of Denmark and lost 21-23, 21-14 to the Rio Olympics silver medallists.

It was commendable performance from the Malaysians who were also beaten in last week’s Far East Victor Malaysia Masters in Sibu, Sarawak where they lost to Hong Kong’s Poon Lok Yan-Tze Ying Suet in a closely fought match 22-20, 20-22, 21-15.

The women’s singles final will see top seed P.V. Sindhu of India face Indonesia’s rising star Gregoria Mariska who upset compatriot and sixth seed Hanna Ramadini 21-19, 21-14 in 37 minutes.

Sindhu, India’s Rio Olympics silver medallist knocked out No 4 seed Fitriani Fitriani of Indonesia 21-11, 21-19 in 33 minutes.

The men’s singles will be an all-India affair between eighth seed Sameer Verma taking on No 9 seed B. Sai Praneeth. Sameer beat compatriot Harsheel Dani (No 15 seed) 21-15, 21-11 while Sai Praneeth stunned third seed K. Srikanth 15-21, 21-10, 21-17.

There was also a major upset in the mixed doubles when India’s seventh seeds B. Sumeeth Reddy-Ashwini Ponappa came back from a set down to beat top seeds Joachim Fischer Nielsen-Christinna Pedersen 19-21, 21-18, 21-18 in a 71-minute battle.

They will face compatriots and second seeds Pranaav Jerry Chopra-N. Sikki Reddy for the title. Chopra-Reddy knocked out fifth seeds Mathias Christiansen-Sara Thygesen of Denmark 21-18, 21-13.

Last weeks Malaysia Masters winners Berry Angriawan-Hardianto Hardianto failed to make the final in Lucknow after a 21-16, 21-17 defeat to Taiwan’s Lu Ching Yao-Yang Po-han.

The Taiwanese will meet top seeds Mathias Boe-Carsten Mogensen in the final. The Danes beat Indonesia’s Fajar Alfian-Muhammad Rian Ardianto 11-21, 21-17, 21-19 in their semi-final match.





Sai Praneeth (Ind) beat K. Srikanth (Ind) 15-21, 21-10, 21-17 

Sameer Verma (INd) beat Harsheel Dani (Ind) 21-15, 21-11



Lu Ching Yao-Yang Po Han (Tpe) beat Berry Angriawan-Hardianto Hardianto (Ina) 21-16, 21-17

Mathias Boe-Carsten Mogensen (Den) beat Fajar Alfian-Muhammad Rian Ardianto (Ina) 11-21, 21-17, 21-19




P.V. Sindhu (Ind) beat Fitriani Fitriani (Ina) 21-11, 21-19

Gregoria Mariska (Ina) beat Hanna Ramadini (INa) 21-19, 21-14



Kamilla Rytter Juhl-Christina Pedersen (Den) Lim Yin Loo-Yap Cheng Wen (Mas) 23-21, 21-14

Ashwini Ponappa-N. Sikki Reddy (Ind) beat Sanjana Santosh-Arathi Sara Sunil (Ind) 18-21, 21-12, 21-13


Mixed doubles

Sumeeth Reddy-Ashwini Ponappa (Ind) beat Joachim Fischer Nielsen-Christinna Pedersen (Den) 19-21, 21-18, 21-18

Pranaav Jerry Chopra-N. Sikki Reddy (Ind) beat Mathias Christiansen-Sara Thygesen (Den) 21-18, 21-13 

- Advertisement -