Jr Circuit 2014 (B)Kuala Lumpur’s Hoo Pang Ron was on fire as he steered the city team to a sensational double in the boys’ Under-16 category of the 100PLUS National Junior Badminton Circuit Zone A which ended at the Penang Badminton Association Hall yesterday.

Pang Ron, seeded joint third here, upstaged the tournament’s top seed, Ng Eng Cheong of Penang, 21-15, 22-20 in the final. The rising KL star then combined forces with Tam Tong Pei and picked up is second victory after defeating teammates Anson Hih Siew Sang-Cheah Chee Feng 21-14, 21-13.

Overall, it was a great day for KL as they went on to bag the boys’ Under-18 singles title through Leong Wen Hao. The unseeded Wen Hao defeated joint third seed Ahmad Maziri Mazlan of Kelantan 21-18, 12-21, 21-14.

Ahmad Maziri, however, bounced back and wrested the Under-18 doubles title with partner Nik Ahmad Azfar Nik Mazlan. The Kelantan pair, seeded joint third, beat Kedah’s Boay Choon How-Bolariffin Khairul Tor 21-17, 21-18 in the final.

Hosts Penang found come consolation when they claimed the boys Under-14 title when top seed and favourite,Liew Jun Rong, won a three-set thriller against teammate Low Eu Cong in the final.

In the all-Kedah Boys’ Under-12 final, Kok Jing Hong beat his doubles partner MohdErfan Abdul Rahman 21-8, 21-17. The duo, seeded number one, later joined forces to win the Under-14 title with a 21-13, 22-20 win over second seeds Eng Sin Jou-Ong You Thien of Penang.

Penang’s Lim Jee Lynn,who slayed the Under-18 girls singles topseed, Natalie Wong, in the quarterfinals, was hoping to complete a double. But the unseeded player’s dream run ended when she went down to her teammate and doubles partner, Chua Cheah Lin, in the final.  Jee Lynn sustained an injury in the third game and retired at 21-12, 22-24, 17-8.

Earlier in the Under-18 girls doubles final, the Penang pair, ranked second, were beaten by number one seeds,Jolynn Lim Chea Ru-Natalie Wong Yee Tong of Kedah. The Kedah pair won 21-11, 17-21, 21-13 in 40 minutes.

Meanwhile, in the 100PLUS National Junior Circuit Zone B finals which ended at the Gan Hong Hoe Badminton Hall in Malacca yesterday, Johor clinched double victories in the girls’ Under-16 and Under-12 categories respectively.

Yap Yee, the top seed, had no difficulty stopping second seed N. Saranya of Selangor 21-16, 21-12 in the Under-16 girls’ final. She later partnered Wong Kelly to take the doubles title. The top seeds were too strong for Chen Yi Teng-Yonna Lee Zhi Qing of Putrajaya and cruised to a 21-16, 21-11 win in 22 minutes.

In the Under-12 girls finals, top seeded Go Pei Keedefeated teammate Hoe Shi Yun in an all-Johor final to take the girls’ Under-12 singles title. In the doubles final, the unseeded Johor girls stunned Selangor’s K. Letshana-R. Venosha (seeded second) 21-11, 21-16.


RESULTS (All Finals)

ZONE A (Penang)



Singles: Leong Wen Hao (KL) bt Ahmad MaziriMazlan (Kel) 21-18, 12-21, 21-14

Doubles: Ahmad MaziriMazlan-Nik Ahmad AzfarNikMazlan (Kel) btBoayChoon How-BolriffinKhairul Tor (Ked) 21-17, 21-18


Singles: Hoo Pang Ron (KL) bt Ng Eng Cheong (Pg) 21-15, 22-20

Doubles: Hoo Pang Ron-Tam Tong Pei (KL) bt Anson HihSiew Sang-Cheah Chee Feng (KL) 21-14, 21-13


Singles: Liew Jun Rong (Pg) bt Low Eu Cong (Pg) 21-10, 15-21, 21-19

Doubles: Kelvin Lim Song Long-Liew Jun Rong (Pg) bt Chua Yue Chern-Tan Kok Xian (KL) 21-14, 21-18


Singles: Kok Jing Hong (Ked) btMohdErfan Abdul Rahman (Ked) 21-8, 21-17

Doubles: Kok Jing Hong-MohdErfan Abdul Rahman (Ked) bt Alvin Cheah-Teh Jin Hong (Pg) 21-13, 22-20




Singles: Chua Cheah Lin (Pg) bt Lim Jee Lynn (Pg) 21-12, 22-24, 17-8 (retired)

Doubles: Jolynn Lim Chea Ru-Natalie Wong Yee Tong (Ked) bt Chua Cheah Lin-Lim Jee Lynn (Pg) 21-11, 17-21, 21-13.


Singles: Kong Yi Jin (Pg) bt Lee Shun Mei (Pg) 26-24, 21-15

Doubles: LohBao Ying-Nur Johanna AdryanaSaha (KL) bt Too Shen Yee-Yap Kar Man (KL) 21-17, 21-18


Singles: Eng Sin Jou (Ked) bt Chan Qi Yong (Pg) 21-18, 21-12

Doubles: Sara UliSaragi-Tan Wen Xin (KL) btEng Sin Jou-Ong You Thien (Ked) 21-18, 21-18


Singles: Teoh Le Xuan (Pg) bt Chloe Jennifer Wittingfon (KL) 21-11, 21-16

Doubles: Cheah Wen Jun-Teoh Le Xuan (pg) btNurulAisyahNazri-ValereeSiowZi Xuan (Pk) 21-11, 21-14



ZONE B (Malacca)



Singles: Bong GuangYik (Mal) bt Muhammad Lukman Hakim (Sel) 21-16, 21-16

Doubles: S. Mahendran-Wong Wai Jun (NS) btFazandraYustiandiraYusri-ZulhelmiZulkifli (Putrajaya) 21-15, 21-14


Singles: Lim Yik Fong (Sel) bt Wong Tien Chi (Joh) 15-21, 21-15, 25-23

Doubles: Muhammad IzzudinShamsulMuzli-Muhammad SyazmilIdham (Sel) btIzzatFarhanAzhar-RiyandraKesumaSuherman (Sel) 21-13, 26-24


Singles: AidilSholeh Ali Sadikim (Sel) bt Tee Kai Wun (Mal) 21-18, 21-14

Doubles: AidilSholeh Ali Sadikim-Nor Aqmal Abu Hassan (Sel) bt Chung Kun Wai-Shaun Wong (Sel) 19-21, 21-16, 21-19


Singles: Yap Sai Kuan (Joh) btMuhdAtefHaikalTaufik (Sel) 21-16, 22-20

Doubles: MohdShahrul Mat Desa-Wan MohdArifSharuddin Wan Junaidi (TG) bt Kenny Khew-Muazzam Danish Hanafi (Sel) 21-10, 22-20





Singles: Lim Ann Chee (Mal) bt See To Chia Yee (Pah) 22-20, 21-6

Doubles: Payee Lim Peiy Yee-Teoh Mei Xing (Sel) bt June Yeoh Lee Xin-Tan Shi Ying (NS) 21-12, 21-18


Singles: Yap Yee (Joh) bt N. Saranya (Sel) 21-16, 21-12

Doubles: Wong Kelly-Yap Yee (Joh) bt Chen Yi Teng-Yonna Lee Zhi Qing (Putrajaya) 21-16, 21-11


Singles: HamisyaHashuddin (Mal) bt H. Dharshana (Sel) 21-12, 21-16

Doubles: HamisyaHashuddin-Loo Cheng Yee (Mal) bt H. Dharshana-Welnis Lim Peiy Link (Sel) 21-11, 21-16


Singles: Go Pei Kee (Joh) bt Hoe Shi Yun (Joh) 21-11, 21-13

Doubles: Go Pei Yee-Leong Mei Chin (Joh) btK. Letshanaa-R. Venosha (Sel) 21-11, 21-16

- Advertisement -