Frenchman Hadrian David and Sweden’s Emil Skaras shared the spoils on the opening day of the FIA Formula 4 SEA Championship 2019 at the Sepang International Circuit. 

David roared away from his rivals to secure the maiden win of the season while Skaras triumphed in wet conditions in Race 2.

In the season-opening race, David, second on the grid behind pole-position Skaras, turned in a stunning performance from the flag-off to top the podium in a time of 20 minutes 11.816 seconds. It was a close start with four drivers charging into the first turn, with Irish driver Luca Allen moving ahead of the field with David back in fourth.

Early on the second lap, Skaras dropped into seventh after a collision damaged his front wing. Allen and David began to pull away and set the pace for their own battle in front. But David soon found his way past Allen in the fourth lap and never looked back.

Allen chased down the leader but ran out of time and settled for second in a time of 20:15.981 while Malthe Jaokbsen from Denmark was third in 20:19.590.

Later in the evening, Skaras, who finished eighth in the first race, made up for his earlier disappointment when he stormed to victory in Race 2. He kept his cool in the wet conditions which worsened as the race progressed and forced the red flag out.

Skaras, who was fastest in yesterday’s official qualifying, clocked 16 minutes 25.820 seconds to claim victory after the race was halted on the seventh lap.

Allen was on the podium again, just a shade behind Skaras, with 16:26.315 while Finnish Elias Seppanen completed the podium with his time of 16:29.551.


Race 1 (9 laps)

  1. Hadrian David (FRA)             20 minutes 11.816 seconds
  2. Luca Allen (IRL)                      20:15.981
  3. Malthe Jakobsen (DNK)       20:18.057
  4. Elias Seppanen (FIN)            20:19.590
  5. Alister Yoong (MAS)             20:24.237
  6. Josh Smith (AUS)                   20:27.040
  7. Sharien Naidoo (ZAF)           20:33.512
  8. Emil Skaras (SWE)                 20:51.278
  9. Ali Akabi (IRQ)                        20:56.221
  10. Lyubov Ozeretkovskaya (KAZ) 20:58.076

Race 2 (7 laps)

  1. Emil Skaras (SWE)                 16:25.820
  2. Luca Allen (IRL)                      16:26.315
  3. Elias Seppanen (FIN)            16:29.551
  4. Muizz Musyaffa (MAS)        16:30.021
  5. Sharien Naidoo (ZAF)           16:31.296
  6. Josh Smith (AUS)                   16:41.355
  7. Hadrian David (FRA)             16:53.151        
  8. Alister Yoong (MAS)             16:55.279
  9. Ali Akabi (IRQ)                        16:55.731
  10. Malthe Jakobsen (DNK)     17:00.191
- Advertisement -