THANK YOU: SAM president Ahmad Khawari Isa (second right) and 100PLUS’ Carissa Goh at today’s function.

THE outcome for the SAM-100PLUS Awards 2013 will be tough to predict as there is a strong list of contenders which includes world No. 1’s, Datuk Lee Chong Wei and Datuk Nicol David. The other stars shortlisted for the SAM-100PLUS Athlete of the Year Award are Sazali Samad (body building), Pandelela Rinong – Leong Mun Yee (diving) and Diana Bong – Hon Mun Hua (wushu).

“They have prevailed at the highest stage and deserve to be recognised. I believe in the wisdom of SAM members to pick the best amongst the best.” said Ahmad Khawari Isa, the president of the Sportswriters Association of Malaysia (SAM).

“The six nominees were the best performers for Malaysia last year with very little separating them, and as such it will be very close to call indeed.”

The Sportswriters Association of Malaysia (SAM) in collaboration with 100PLUS and the Youth and Sports Ministry are pleased to announce the annual “2013 SAM Awards” ceremony will be held on April 3.

The winner will be decided by SAM members.

“It has been more than a decade since we began our collaboration with SAM and we at 100PLUS could not have been more than pleased with this partnership,” said Carissa Goh, the Corporate Affairs Manager with F&N Beverages Marketing Sdn Bhd.

“Ultimately, I believe that we are all here for the same purpose which is to promote sporting excellence and also to give support to our local sportsmen and women.”

Sports Minister YB Khairy Jamaluddin will be the special guest of honour to grace the occasion. More than 250 people, including invited guests, athletes and sports officials are expected to attend the function, which will be held over lunch.

The ‘Athlete of the Year’ will take home RM10,000 in prize money and a trophy. The other awards are for ‘Comeback Athlete’, ‘Young Athlete’ and ‘Most Dynamic Association’.

The SAM members are in for a windfall, too. They stand to win a total of RM40,000 in cash prizes. The ‘SAM-KBS Media Awards’ is divided into six categories – with the Overall winner ‘Anugerah Utama’ receiving RM7,000 and a trophy.

The six categories are: (1) news report (print), (2) commentary (print), (3) news report (electronic), (4) commentary (electronic), (5) special report (print & electronic) and (6) best photography. The ‘Anugerah Utama’ winner will be picked from the winners of the six categories.

The winner of the six categories will each receive RM3,000 and a trophy. All five nominees from each of the six categories will receive RM500 and a crystal medal.

- Advertisement -