One-two for the BMW S 1000 RR in the CEV 

Last weekend saw the decider for which six riders will take part in the 2015 “Title Showdown” in the British Superbike Championship (BSB). With Tommy Bridewell (GB) and Michael Laverty (GB), two BMW racers qualified for the title chase. Bridewell claimed another podium finish in Oulton Park (GB) this weekend.

His Tyco BMW team-mate Alastair Seeley (GB) won the race for the BSB Superstock class (BSB STK), with Hudson Kennaugh (ZA) also stepping onto the podium. The 2015 FIM CEV Superbike European Championship (CEV) resumed in Albacete (ES) last weekend, with Iván Silva (ES) and Adrían Bonastre (ES) claiming one win and three more podium finishes for the BMW S 1000 RR.

In the French European Bikes Championship (FR EU) races in Carole (FR), BMW riders Benjamin Colliaux (FR) and Florian Brunet-Lugardon (FR) also took four of the six podium spots available. With their results, the racers collected further points for the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy.



British Superbike Championship in Oulton Park, Great Britain

The ninth round of the 2015 British Superbike Championship (BSB) in Oulton Park (GB) marked the deciding weekend for which riders will take part in the “Title Showdown”. The top six riders in the overall classification will battle for the 2015 crown over the three remaining rounds of the season.

Among these six riders are two BMW racers: Tyco BMW team-mates Tommy Bridewell (GB) and Michael Laverty (GB). Tyco BMW is the only BSB team to have two riders in the showdown. Bridewell starts the title chase in fourth overall with 507 points, Laverty is sixth with 500 points.

Both riders defended their places in the showdown in Oulton Park, where three races were held in the Superbike class (BSB SBK) at the deciding weekend. Bridewell retired in the first two races, but claimed third on the podium in race three. Laverty finished the races in ninth, seventh and 12th to collect the points needed.

In each of the three races, a total of six BMW riders finished within the top-15. In race one, Buildbase BMW Motorrad riders Richard Cooper (GB) and Lee Jackson (GB) finished seventh and eighth in front of Laverty. Peter Hickman (GB / RAF Reserves BMW) was tenth, Martin Jessopp (GB / Riders Motorcycles BMW) crossed the line in 12th and Ryuichi Kiyonari (JP / Buildbase BMW Motorrad) was 15th on his RR.

The best placed BMW rider in race two was Hickman in sixth, followed by Laverty in seventh and Cooper in eighth. Jackson, Kiyonari and Jessopp crossed the line in 12th, 13th and 14th respectively. In the third race, in which Bridewell finished third on the podium, Cooper was seventh and Kiyonari ninth. Laverty, Jackson and Billy McConnell (GB / Smiths Racing BMW) took the chequered flag in 12th, 13th and 15th respectively.

In the Superstock class (BSB STK), the tenth race of the season was held in Oulton Park – with the sixth win for the BMW S 1000 RR. Tyco BMW rider Alastair Seeley (GB) was victorious for the fourth time this season. He was joined on the podium by Hudson Kennaugh (ZA), who finished third on his Trik-Moto BMW S 1000 RR.

Luke Quigley (GB / Formwise Washrooms / Bathams) followed in fourth, Adam Jenkinson (GB / Northern Escalator Installations) was seventh and Dominic Usher (GB / DU Racing BMW) crossed the line in eighth. In the championship rankings, Seeley reduced the gap to the top and is second, 17 points behind the leader. Two more races will be held this season. In the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy, Seeley improved to fifth.



FIM CEV Superbike European Championship in Albacete, Spain

The BMW racers in the FIM CEV Superbike European Championship (CEV) came back from the summer break with brilliant performances at the fourth race weekend of the season in Albacete (ES). In the first of the two races, Iván Silva (ES / Targobank Motorsport) and Adrián Bonastre (ES / boxmotos.com Easyrace SBK Team) claimed a one-two for the BMW S 1000 RR.

Silva celebrated his first win of the season, Bonastre came home second. In race two, they stepped onto the podium again, with Silva being runner-up and Bonastre finishing third. In addition, Silva set the fastest lap in this race. In the championship rankings, Silva is second, 26 points behind the leader with five races to go.

Eeki Kuparinen (FI / Motomarket Racing) finished the races in Albacete in sixth and seventh overall, claiming second and third in the privateer class (CEV AM). In the championship rankings for the privateers, Kuparinen is second and closed the gap to the leader to a mere two points.


French Superbike Championship / French European Bikes Championship in Carole, France

The racing season in France also resumed after a long summer break last weekend. The “Circuit Carole” near Paris (FR) hosted the sixth round of the French Superbike Championship (FSBK) and the French European Bikes Championship (FR EU). In the Superstock class of the FSBK (FSBK STK), BMW racer Emeric Jonchière (FR / ERT BMW Motorrad Club France) finished in the points in race one. He crossed the line 13th in the class (18th overall). He retired in race two.

In FR EU, the privateer BMW riders continued their streak of success and claimed four of the six podium positions available. Benjamin Colliaux (FR / Team CMW – R2T) finished second in both races, Florian Brunet-Lugardon (FR / Gers Moto Vitesse Ordannaise) was third on both occasions.

In the championship rankings, Florian Brunet-Lugardon is second, 26 points behind the leader, and still has the chance to win the title at the season finale at the end of September in Albi (FR). In the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy he has improved to seventh.

In the first FR EU race at Carole no less than six BMW S 1000 RRs crossed the line in the first seven positions. Cyril Brunet-Lugardon (FR / Gers Moto Vitesse Ordannaise) was fourth behind his brother Florian. Julien Brun (FR / Team JB Racing) was fifth, while Florian Drouin (FR / GD Performance) came home sixth.

His team-mate Michel Amalric (FR) completed the top-seven. In race two, Cyril Brunet-Lugardon and Brun again finished fourth and fifth respectively, while Amalric was seventh again. Idres, Drouin and Benichou crossed the line in eighth, ninth and tenth respectively.


2015 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy – Current Standings

In 2015 the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy comprises a total of 19 international and national championships. Participants in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy can compete in multiple championships. The points scored in the different championships are calculated separately for each individual race series. The current standings only include points from the race series in which the participant has scored the most Race Trophy points. You can find all the information on the 2015 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy online at the BMW Motorrad Motorsport website:



Pos. Name (Nat.) Series / Class Points
1 Jordan Szoke (CA) CSBK PR 341.67
2 Markus Reiterberger (DE) IDM SBK 299.52
3 Matthieu Lussiana (FR) MT1GP STK GP 294.81
4 Roland Resch (AT) AARR SBK 292.36
5 Alastair Seeley (GB) BSB STK 266.18
6 Pekka Päivärinta / Kirsi Kainulainen (FI) SWC 250.67
7 Florian Brunet-Lugardon (FR) FR EU 242.46
8 Michal Prášek (CZ) AARR STK 235.00
9 Roberto Tamburini (IT) STK1000 212.00
10 Cyril Brunet-Lugardon FR EU 211.69
11 Hudson Kennaugh (ZA) BSB STK 205.09
12 Michal Šembera (CZ) AARR STK 203.33
13 Michel Amalric (FR) FR EU 182.15
14 Lee Johnston (GB) BMW RRC 181.33
15 Eeki Kuparinen (FI) CEV AM 179.20


- Advertisement -