Melbourne Victory dominated Sydney FC winning 3-0 for their third Australian A-League title in the season decider in Melbourne on Sunday.

Kevin Muscat’s Victory were the far better side and sealed the win with goals from Albanian marksman Besart Berisha, New Zealand international Kosta Barbarouses, and Leigh Broxham.

Victory led 1-0 at half-time after Berisha’s strike in the 34th minute, rifling home after the Sydney defence failed to clear their box.

Barbarouses hammered home the second goal in the 84th minute with Broxham sealing the win with his strike in the 90th minute.

It was Melbourne Victory’s first title since 2009 in the biggest-supported club’s first grand final appearance in five years.

Berisha won his third A-League championship after winning twice with former club Brisbane Roar and extended his incredible scoring record to 63 goals in 104 A-League appearances over four seasons.

Skipper and midfielder Mark Milligan was named the winner of the Joe Marston Medal as the player of the match.

It was Sydney’s first away defeat of the season, but it was an underwhelming performance by Graham Arnold’s team, who looked disjointed and out of sorts playing before a 30,000 full house at Victory’s home ground. – Agence France-Presse

- Advertisement -