Brunei Darussalam track cycling team will be extending their stay in Malaysia to prepare for the 29th SEA Games edition.

According to Brunei national cycling coach Yafiz Jamaludin, the team will be staying on until 21 July after the recently concluded National Track Cycling Championships at the National Velodrome in Nilai from 10-11 July.

Yafiz was also grateful to the Malaysian National Cycling Federation for the opportunity to participate in the tournament and their support as the team were welcomed with open arms.
“They’ve been really supportive of us as this is part of our preparations and through this I’m able to assess my riders on their weakness and strength.
“In our country, we don’t have a velodrome and we have little time on the track. So this is a very good opportunity. We were given time to train here in preparations for the KL2017 Games.
“We’re still new in track cycling and we are yet to compete in the major tournaments. Our biggest was the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. So far we have only participated in a few tournaments,” said Yafiz.
“Winning a silver and three bronze medals, I think it’s good for us. We hope to bring the momentum to the Games while we still have the time to improve and work on our weaknesses.
The Malaysian-born coach also added that seven riders will be selected to compete in two events – track cycling and road cycling.
“Currently we have six riders and we’re looking for one more. We will be fielding a total of seven riders to participate all the events in track cycling. So one rider would probably have two or three events.
“Depending on the situation, we will assess the suitable candidates to feature for the country. The seven will also participate in road cycling as well.
“Track cycling is a tactical event and we don’t only focus on our fitness. So riding on the track and the road are totally different.
“My boys are here to get the feel of it and to improve in their races in terms of – balancing, cornering, momentum and others,” explained Yafiz.
Winners of Final Day results
Individual Pursuit Men Elite – Muhd Shaiful Adlan bin Mohd Shukri (Ter) – no time was provided.
Omnium Men Elite (4 races – scratch, tempo, elimination, point race) – Muhd Amir Imran bin Norhadi (Sel) – 120 points (total)
Team Sprint Men Elite – Mohd Saari Amri bin Abd Rasim, Mohd Nur Hasif bin Masri, Muhd Daniel Aiman bin Edy Suhaidee (Joh) – 51.592
Team Sprint Men Junior – Taib Azamuddeen bin Mohd Shukri, Amar Danial bin Masri, Alif Aiman bin Safuan (MSN) – 48.084
Team Sprint Women Junior – Nur Fasihah Adilah bt Mohd Yusni and Nur Qadrina Emylia binti Ilias (Sel) – 40.485
- Advertisement -