Jeev Milkha Singh, Darren Clarke, Matthew Fitzpatrick and Victor Dubuisson will challenge for the specially-commissioned Maybank Championship Malaysia trophy when the event gets underway in a fortnight.

Maybank unveiled the trophy which was conceptualised by Maybank and created by the Royal Selangor.

The trophy is a modern sculptural art form of the “Tiger”, an eminent symbol of Maybank. Weighing nearly five (5) kilos and measuring 550mm (H) x 340mm (W) in height, the trophy is crafted out of pewter on a wooden base.

Tan Sri Dato’ Megat Zaharuddin Megat Mohd Nor, Chairman of Maybank and Tan Sri Yong Poh Kon, Chairman of Royal Selangor International Sdn. Bhd., officiated the ceremony at Hilton Kuala Lumpur today. 

“The “Tiger” is a notable brand mark of Maybank and a symbol of Malaysian national pride. With the trophy we aim to illustrate the best of the Maybank Championship Malaysia – ‘courageous, creative and collaborative’ – whilst playing our role in nurturing the pursuit of professional excellence in the game of golf, now across ASEAN countries,” said Tan Sri Dato’ Megat.

Tan Sri Yong added, “We are honoured to have been chosen as the official trophy maker for the Maybank Championship Malaysia, and together with Maybank, we have created a work of art. The intriguing design of the “Tiger” coupled with our intricate craftsmanship, have created a new milestone in the arena of golf trophies in Asia.

Crafted with meticulous attention to detail, Royal Selangor’s specially-designed trophies are recognised as accolades that befit the world’s top achievers. The company has previously crafted trophies for other high profile events such as the Formula 1 Grand Prix races in Singapore, Malaysia and China; the Shanghai ATP Masters 1000 and the inaugural WTA Wuhan Open 2014 tennis tournaments.

Following the unveiling of the trophy, Tan Sri Dato’ Megat also announced the participation of the 2016 EurAsia Cup captains, Clarke and Singh, along with Fitzpatrick and Dubuisson who join a previously announced stellar cast which includes Martin Kaymer, Louis Oosthuizen, Danny Willett, Thongchai Jaidee and Kiradech Aphibarnrat.

“The presence of these four renowned players adds to the attraction of the player field at the Maybank Championship Malaysia,” said Tan Sri Megat. “I am pleased that so far, seven of the top 50 world-ranked players will be at the tournament.”



The Maybank Championship Malaysia Trophy is a modern sculptural art form of the “Tiger” which is a symbolic icon of Maybank that is recognised worldwide. The tiger is synonymous with Maybank’s identity – it demonstrates strength, leadership and power. The trophy was produced by Royal Selangor, the Official Trophy Maker of the Maybank Championship Malaysia

The tiger is also a symbolic representation of Maybank’s presence in ASEAN, as this magnificent animal can be found in many of the region’s member countries.  The famous term “Tiger Economies” was created to symbolise the economy of a country which undergoes rapid economic growth. The ASEAN region is a one of the fastest growing regions in the world today and Maybank is well represented throughout the region with on ground operations in all its 10 countries.

The Maybank Championship Malaysia was created with the aim of building ASEAN communities through growing the game of professional golf in the region. The trophy therefore exemplifies the best of the Maybank Championship Malaysia: ‘strength’, ‘power’ & ‘excellence’.

- Advertisement -